Day 20 - Powell: Staying Put In Lochsa Lodge-see updated post for yesterday. Photos up! - Off To See the Wizard - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2014

Day 20 - Powell: Staying Put In Lochsa Lodge-see updated post for yesterday. Photos up!

Snow on the pass......yes it did. We were glad we stayed over. It is cold and slushy up on the pass according to the live cam. The snow on the road is very messy and would not be fun much less comfy....big trucks flying by with all that cold slosh coming at me! No thank you.....

One should really test all their old equipment before heading out on the road for three months! Tuesday, I put on my water proof pants (they were over ten yrs old) for the first time on the trip and guess what? All the waterproofing seams started peeling off...leaving the seams wide open. We duct taped one seam and headed out into the rain.....by mid day the entire right leg had fallen apart. Well they are now in the trash. I will just have to get by without them. Don't really want to go into Missoula just to shop for them (it's a 25'ish mile round trip off route to go there) Jack has some fleece pants I can wear over my bike pants..they shed water pretty well and will keep me warm.

Today we are antsy ...want to be moving. We are having breakfast in the lodge, updating here on the blog and thinking about a little walk about.

My Office Today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Serious Breakfast
Heart 0 Comment 0

Speaking of food...I took a picture of what we have been eating but it isn't on my iPad to load. In a normal day we eat oatmeal for breakfast, peanut butter crackers, bananas, apples, fig newtons, little donuts, cookies, peanut butter for lunch all during the day every 20 miles or so. We have also been drinking Gatorade and lots of water. For dinner we have Mac 'n Cheese with tuna or instant potatoes with packaged salmon or beans and rice and something. Also, avocados have been traveling well so we have had several of those. If we eat out it's eggs, pancakes, burgers or the like. Jack has been craving sweets and I am going for salt and protein. Jerky has been tasting great!

My Handlebar Bag - equipped with my very own trouble doll!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jack's Roller Bag...Oaklandish!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Bye for today.....going to write some postcards to those that don't do this internet thing.

Fuel- oatmeal seems hard to contain!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fuel Too!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mike and Patricia.....Mike doing Lewis & Clark then No Tier. Patricia doing Lewis & Clark
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0