Day 20 - Ending near Pipe, WI - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2018

Day 20 - Ending near Pipe, WI

Rode on Fox River State Trail

It was bright enough under the awning of the Commercial Building to read my notes in the tent without a flashlight, thanks to the ceiling lights. Even so, I slept well until 4:05am, which was time for report-writing. I ended that at 6:00am to pack. 

A fairgrounds worker was picking up trash near me when I was about to leave (at 8:26am). He said they've been at it for a week now, following the fair. I'd covered the bike's cargo with plastic, and even put on my rubber boots, in anticipation of today's predicted rain. And there was light rain just as I left, with a goodbye from the fairgrounds worker.

A short ride south brought me to the Nicolet Restaurant at 8:38am. I sat at the counter for breakfast, ordering a cinnamon roll I saw in the display case on my way in. A train passed by on the tracks between the building and their parking lot as I ate. I think the building used to be the depot.

Over a bridge had me on the Fox River State Trail at 9:40am. There's more trail north, but this is where I connected (at George Street). The trail is paved here, and was being used by walkers, joggers, and cyclists. By 10:15am, most were heading home, as rain had started. I put on my rainsuit. I passed Midway Road at 10:25am, and was at Laser Road - where the paved section of the trail ends - at 10:41am.

At 11:05am, I took off the rainsuit. Arrived in Greenleaf at 11:17am. I had fun checking out Cornette grain facility (what I could see from the trail). 

I arrived at the East River, just south of Wayside Road at noon. 15.5 miles, so far. A short break, then on with it at 12:10pm. Crossed the county line at 12:20pm, and was in Forest Junction at 12:42pm. 

At 1:20pm, I was half a mile from the trail's end. I stopped here for one last break protected from the south wind, which I knew was blowing when I'd passed open areas along the trail. The sun was almost shining when I arrived at CR-B, the present south end of the Fox River Trail. 19.4 straight-line miles to my destination: Columbia Park on the eastern shore of Lake Winnebago. My road routing had me going west on CR-B, then CR-BB to WI-55. 

I arrived at WI-55 at 2:22pm, after a nice flat ride west. Now, turn south into the wind. This is work! Also, a busy road with a shoulder, but not a wide one. Then, at 3:15pm, back on with the rainsuit! 

It was raining as I passed through Stockbridge, which looked like an interesting town. I turned west here at 3:39pm to get to a less-busy road south (Lakeshore Drive). About ten miles on this nice flat road, but still with the south wind. Turned back east at 5:13pm, following my routing to Columbia Park. After a turn south on the highway, I passed through Pipe and was on the final road west to the park.

Arrived at 5:39pm, and registered with the wife of the camp host. I chose site #2 unseen from the few left to choose from. When I was there, site #4 looked a lot better for a tent, and I was able to change to that one. The camp host noticed that I didn't have enough change for the pop machine, and offered me some quarters. Too nice! I ate supper after the tent was up, then checked out Lake Winnebago. It was already getting too dark for taking good pictures, and I didn't realize they have a lookout tower here. I was the last one to the top (closes at sunset). What a view!

There was live music from a nearby establishment drifting into the campground. That was putting me to sleep, so I decided to call it a day at 9:30pm, with planned early-morning report-writing.

Jeff

Spent: $8.99 plus $2 (breakfast) + $25 (campsite) = $35.99.

Day 20 - De Pere, WI to Pipe, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltNice picture of sorghum!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sorghum
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 728 miles (1,172 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0