Day 2 - Ending near Kewanee, IL - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2018

Day 2 - Ending near Kewanee, IL

Rode on Rock Island State Trail

Woke up at 5:33am. It hasn't rained overnight, and was still muggy. Checked bike, then worked on report. At 6:55am, the first train of the day came by - none while I slept. I listened to my weather radio while loading the bike. Fifty percent chance for rain today. On my way back to the trail at 8:30am. Today's destination is Francis Park near Kewanee - 38 miles if I have it figured right.

I still needed to finish yesterday's report, and planned to do that at The Mayflower Family Restaurant in Dunlap. I was at the restaurant at 8:54am, when I saw they are closed for vacation! So I changed plans to a "gas station breakfast", arriving at the Fast Stop at 9:01am. Single serving pies and coffee is what I selected. No place to sit here, but I found a pavilion at the town's ballpark. The coffee was good, but the cherry pie didn't seem very fresh. I decided to check date code on the apple pie. 2002! I threw it away. 

I continued work on the report after breakfast, and I was at a good spot, since it started raining at 10:28am. Sent the report email to my wife for posting, and left under dry conditions at 11:28am.

I remembered to record the noon mileage (at 12:04pm) without the alarm (6.0 miles). I've set the alarm now.

I noticed a sign on a tree near Princeville advertising Ellen's Diner. Sounded good to me, then I read "Closed -> Monday". In Princeville, at 12:37pm, I happened upon Sprinkles, and bought lunch there - two hot dogs and a banana shake. Left at 12:59pm, finishing my way through town back to the trail.

Part of the trail is closed north of Princeville, and the detour had me on IL-91 for a mile. At 2:01pm, I passed Stark, and arrived in Wyoming at 3:00pm. I was just about out of water, and happy to see they have a cooler fountain here. I covered the rear cargo next, since rain was showing to the west on the radar. 

I left the trail at Wyoming, since pre-trip research indicated it was closed. Headed west on IL-91 instead, at 3:44pm. At 4:34pm, I joined back up with the trail two miles west of Toulon, and was at its end in Toulon at 4:50pm.

At 5:00pm, I stopped to put this smartphone on charge from the bike's battery. I was at the north side of town, with 12.5 straight-line miles to go. With a few breaks along the way, I had this straight run north almost done - when I met up with US-34 at 7:42pm. The park is just north of the highway, and I was there at 7:50pm.

There is a house here at the park built by Fred Francis. It's unique, and so was Fred and his bicycle. I took some pictures of the house, then self-registered as "Tent in trailer court - $13.00/day", since I wanted electricity. I had the tent up and loaded just before 9:00pm. Decided to take a shower next, but when I arrived at the bathrooms, I found there are no showers in this park!

Back at the tent, I didn't do anymore today but go to bed (and listen to the trains go by on the tracks that parallel US-34 to the south).

Jeff

Spent: $6.82 (breakfast) + $7.78 (lunch) + $13 (campsite) = $27.60.

Day 2 - Alta, IL to Kewanee, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Mike AylingBest before/use by 2002!

Reminds me of the Kwik-E- Mart in The Simpsons!

Mike
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
I've seen only a handful of Simpsons episodes, and not the one you're referring to. I'm definitely checking date codes on those from now on!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
+ Rock Island State Trail - Dunlap, IL +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesThat looks about as pretty as the food Keith Klein is feasting on in France right now.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
I was thinking they might look better than they taste, but they were good.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking north at the Rock Island State Trail - Stark, IL +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ looking north at CR-00E - Henry County on left, Bureau County on right +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking southwest at BNSF tracks that parallel US-34 - Henry County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 61 miles (98 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0