Day 19 - Ending at De Pere, WI - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2018

Day 19 - Ending at De Pere, WI

Rode on Mountain-Bay State Trail

I slept so well last night (in a real bed)! Awake at 6:45am, and at the motel's breakfast area at 7:00am. The Weather Channel was on their TV. I did catch in between all the talk about a Hurricane Lane in Hawaii that there might be rain on Friday. Today, however, looked like another pleasant, sunny day. Today's plan is to finish the Mountain-Bay Trail and make my way through Green Bay to the Brown County Fairgrounds.

I turned in my room key at 9:30am, and was back at the trail at 9:34am. Sort of like a repeat of yesterday, though I didn't have as many miles to cover. Going was a little slower, due to overgrowth on the trail in this section. I passed through Bonduel at 10:49am, and Zachow at 11:33am. I was almost to Willow Road when the noon alarm sounded. 14.9 miles is today's noon report. Like yesterday, I took a break then to eat a crunch bar.

A lot of grasshoppers and Monarch butterflies around today. The butterflies would often flutter along with me a short ways, as if they wanted to come along.

At 12:55pm, I crossed over the county line, entering Brown County, and what seemed to be a completely different trail. From overgrown to not a weed in sight. Faster riding now. I rode through Pulaski at 1:07pm, and Anston at 1:50pm.

At 2:45pm, I was at the end of the Mountain-Bay trail. It'd been easy routing up to now (just follow the trail). Now I needed to keep an eye on traffic and my GPS waypoints to get through another "big city". My route had a general southeast direction, and did have me on a short diagonal path at one point. Crossing some of the intersections with busy traffic was a challenge, and at a few, I walked the bike across. 

At 3:42pm, I made a right turn from Clinton Street onto S. Broadway. That's when I noticed there was a significant wind from the southwest. Enough wind to slow me down. At least I had a dedicated bike lane on this busy industrial road.

About four miles to go on Broadway, and I'd be at the fairgrounds. After a while, the bicycle lane widened, and the truck traffic lessened. I passed the National Railroad Museum, which looked like it'd be fun to visit. Also, from time to time, I'd catch glimpses of the Fox River.

At 4:18pm I crossed into De Pere and four minutes later was at the fairgrounds. I made it! I checked the posted campground map. There is an open area for tent camping, and sites in a shaded tree area. Then there are also electrical boxes for sites in front of the fairground buildings. It might rain overnight or in the morning. Setting up close to a shelter would be preferred. There are sites in front of the Commercial Building, and it has an awning. So I chose that location. After registering, I decided to set up under the awning. So, I'm at site #27, sort of.

At 6:00pm, I searched for nearby places to eat using Google Maps. Drift Inn is close, and has good ratings for their chili. I had a bowl of that, a hot dog, and root beer. Very good. 

Back at the picnic table at my camping site at 7:15pm. Worked on report-writing some, but kept falling asleep. Finally just went to bed at 10:40pm, with writing planned for the early morning.

Jeff

Spent: $25 (campsite) + $10.18 plus $2 (supper) = $37.18.

Day 19 - Shawano, WI to De Pere, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ horsetail, I think +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltDogwood. Possibly gray dogwood.

https://www.minnesotawildflowers.info/shrub/gray-dogwood
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ new railroad ties near Hudson Street - Green Bay, WI +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 681 miles (1,096 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0