Day 16 - Still at Dorchester, WI - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2018

Day 16 - Still at Dorchester, WI

Sleeping really late didn't work this morning, as I was awake at 5:47am. No rain yet. Today was for catching up on reports and sleep, and to not be bicycling in the rain.

At 6:50am, I left on the bike to find breakfast. I was heading downtown, but before I was out of the park, I came to a memorial for the S.S. Dorchester, a transport ship sunk by a U-boat during World War II. This was the ship the "Four Chaplains" were on. I'd first heard of the sacrifice these men made during my childhood, when I was into collecting stamps. The memorial here has four corner posts, one dedicated to each chaplain. 

On with my trip downtown, to see if either of the two bars were open. They weren't. I went east then to WI-13, where the Heartland Cooperative Store (Cenex) is. They don't have inside seating, so I purchased items to-go. I was back at my site's picnic table at 7:35am, enjoying my breakfast, especially the coffee!

Back to report-writing in the tent. I fell asleep while doing that, not waking up until 10:40am. At 11:15am, I phoned my wife. Our connection had such a long time-delay echo, that when we talked in short phases, we were done before the echo started. There was a cool east wind now which had me back in the tent after the call.

I emailed my wife Saturday's report at 1:23pm and Sunday's at 5:33pm. In the meantime, light rain was here at 1:41pm, getting heavier at 1:51pm, and stopping at 2:00pm. Steady rain was back at 4:55pm. It tapered off at 6:00pm, just when I wanted to go find supper. 

It's just a few blocks to downtown, so I didn't take my rain jacket. It started raining again before I was out of the park, so I ducked under a one-picnic-table-sized shelter. The rain slowed, and I made a run for it to downtown. "Fuzzy's" bar wasn't open, but "Point O-Eight" was. 

I'd missed most of the weather report on the bar's TV, but I guess I knew it was raining. The next few days look OK. I asked the owner/bartender about food, and was given a menu. He also told me 1/4-lb cheeseburgers were on special price tonight, so I went with that and a half order of onion rings. I also tried a Wisconsin beer - a Leinenkugel's. My whole supper was good, and it was nice being inside for a while.

There was just an annoying rain going on when I left, so I was able to take a few more pictures, including one of the dinky shelter.

One more report to write today (which is this one). More moderate rain while I did it, but it just stopped abruptly (at 9:15pm). Maybe it's done, and so am I!

Jeff

Spent: $15 (campsite) + $9 (breakfast) + $6.75 plus $2 (supper) = $32.75.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home after the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Point O Eight Bar and Grill - Dorchester, WI +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ the stamp in my childhood collection +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0