Day 14 - Ending near Chippewa Falls, WI - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2018

Day 14 - Ending near Chippewa Falls, WI

Rode on Chippewa River State Trail

I was cold last night, and looking forward to the sunrise to warm me up. Started on the report shortly after I was up (4:20am alarm). At 7:25am - still cold and foggy - I rode the empty bike back west into town, using a short section of trail I'd meant to use last night. I was looking for a place to eat breakfast and warm up. Perkz Cafe was the place. After I was done eating, they let me sit there for a while, for more report-writing.

I left the cafe at 9:05am, stopping to take a picture of the Old Pepin County Courthouse, the main historical feature in town. Back at the campground at 9:30am, but it was still cold and damp. Packing up should help warm me up, and it did. I wasn't quite done yet with the report, but I was now more concerned with getting on my way. 

Pine Harbor Campground near Chippewa Falls is where I wanted to be before dark. A little before 11:00am, I was ready to ride, except the PN-40 GPS was having problems. Switched it out with the PN-60, which locked-in on location quickly. With a stop for water, I was at the trailhead for the Chippewa River State Trail at 11:08am.

Day riders were at the trailhead, and passed me shortly after I got started. The trail is paved here, but what really surprised me, is that it's paved its whole length! And it's flat!

Not having yesterday's report sent in was bugging me. At 11:50am, I was at the tee intersection where the Red Cedar Trail starts. I stopped here to finish the report, but the mosquitoes had me back riding before I was done (at 12:10pm).

Noon report: 6.2 miles.

I kept moving, and passed Meridean at 12:54pm, Caryville at 1:49pm, and was at the city limits for Eau Claire at 3:10pm. During that time, I'd passed by open areas, tree and bluff-shaded areas, and places with good views of the Chippewa River. At one spot a group had gathered on a sandbar across the river, after parking their jetskis. They waved.

My way through Eau Claire was confusing - too many unsigned trails. However, following my GPS waypoint route worked, and I was finally past all the walkers and cyclists enjoying this beautiful Saturday afternoon.

I was now on a straight path going northeast, which was signed "Old Abe Trail". Railroad tracks were on my left and a highway to the right. Nice and flat, and paved!

At 5:00pm, I was at the end of the Chippewa River Trail (at 40th Avenue), and started my city street route. It led past a few fast food places, including Arby's, where I stopped for supper at 5:17pm. I was ordering from the posters I saw - Bacon Beef N' Cheddar, Coke Float - but I also remembered I like their turnovers, so added a cherry one of those. Back riding at 5:56pm.

At 6:30pm I was on the wide, paved bike path next to the causeway over Lake Wissota (along CR-X) when I received a phone call from my wife. Ten minutes of home news while watching boaters and talking above traffic noise.

Past the south end of the lake and a turn north brought me to the Pine Harbor Campground office just after 7:00pm. The campground owner has one site for tenting with electricity - site #41 - and set me up there. As soon as the tent was up, I headed over to the nearby shower house, and washed off four days of sweat. That's better!

Finally completed and sent yesterday's report. Bed at 11:00pm, with plans to get started with report-writing at 4:20am tomorrow morning.

Jeff

Spent: $11.08 plus $2.5 (breakfast) + $9.99 (supper) + $25.32 (campsite) = $48.89.

Day 14 - Durand, WI to Chippewa Falls, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ UP freight train near Lake Hallie, WI +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking north at Lake Wissota from bike lane on CR-X bridge +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 486 miles (782 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Timothy SwitzerYou are getting to pretty familiar territory for me .... my parents used to live on Lake Holcombe, about a 40 minute drive north of Chippewa Falls. My first viewing of the original "Star Wars" was at the Falls drive-in theater, summer of 1977.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Timothy SwitzerTim,
It's beautiful country up there. Also, it’s full of friendly folks like you!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
5 years ago