Day 12 - Ending near Trempealeau, WI - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2018

Day 12 - Ending near Trempealeau, WI

Rode on LaCrosse River State Trail, Great River State Trail

I had the alarm wake me at 4:20am, with hopes that that was early enough to get the report done, get packed up, and be on my way in good time. That didn't really work, since I didn't get rolling until 10:47am.

At 10:53am, I was back at the trail. Flat and downhill riding with open areas, marshy areas, and views of bluffs ahead. I wasn't sure which side of the Mississippi River the bluffs are on. 

At 11:33am, I came to a trail overpass with a loop ramp that indicated the end of the LaCrosse River Trail, and the start of the Great River Trail. I was in the LaCrosse area now, and on the lookout for a place to eat breakfast. A Culver's appeared on the left next to the trail. They don't have breakfast items, but it was 11:59am, so that's lunchtime. I parked next to an outdoor table and went in to order and eat. Their North Atlantic Cod Dinner is one of my favorites, and I ordered a large butterscotch shake also. I saw from my receipt that I was in Onalaska now. 

Seeing how overcast it was had me looking at the weather radar while I waited at a booth for my meal. A rain area was to the north - looked like it just appeared and got bigger, but wasn't moving. There were other similar cells scattered here and there, none of them moving. Anyway, there was time to enjoy my lunch. That's what I thought, until I looked outside. Light rain was here! I re-checked the radar. One of those cells had developed just south of here, and grown big enough that we were under it. That hurried me along, plus the fact that a family looking for a place to sit was considering a table outside in the rain. I got up so they could have my booth, which had me eating the last half of my dinner roll standing up.

Outside, I moved the bike closer to under the table's umbrella, then geared up for rain. I have a different kind of rainsuit this year (labeled "frogg toggs"). Time to see how well it works.

I left the protection of the table umbrella at 1:08pm, and arrived at the Onalaska trailhead at 1:18pm. The rain was done by then, and I took off the rainsuit. There's a nice observation platform here, with views of trains and the river. At 1:30pm, I followed the winding path down to the trail.

At first, I was next to the railroad tracks and the river. Later it was just tracks, and finally, just trees. At 2:08pm, I passed by Midway. Farther along the trail - at 2:35pm, there was light rain with sunshine. 

I put my rainsuit back on at 3:07pm, then off at 3:35pm. The trail was wet now, and riding on the weeds in the center of the trail often worked the best. This was slow-going, and I wasn't sure I was going to make it to my planned destination - Merrick State Park near Fountain City. Perrot State Park was along the way. By the time I'd arrived in Trempealeau (at 4:30pm), I'd decided to stop at the nearer park.

There's a connecting path from the trail to the park, and I was there at 5:22pm. The path brought me right to the camping area, which is a bunch of interconnected loop roads. I was going round and round these loops looking for the check-in location, or at least a campground host. I finally found the host site, with a sign stating "OFF DUTY". A gentleman nearby said the main office was at the other park entrance, which sent me back east on a road. I found nothing there, nor on any other road I followed. I was getting frustrated, and finally thought to phone the park. The call connected with a recorded message that was of little help to me, though I could leave a message. It seemed to me that even if I had found the park office, no one would be there. I did leave a message, saying I was setting up at site #7E, which appeared to be open for the night, according to its reserve slip. I also asked that someone stop by to collect my fee.

I wasn't positive that campers wouldn't show up later, and I resolved that I might need to move. It was now 6:25pm, and rain was coming. I got the tent set up and loaded with the gear just in time for the rain, which arrived at 7:05pm.

Catching up on my sleep was what I needed most, so I took a nap until it stopped raining - at 9:40pm. That nap really helped, and it looked like I might be OK here for the night. Time to work on picture-selection, which I did until midnight. 

To bed at 12:20am, with a new day ahead, and some miles to make up.

Jeff

Spent: $16.33 (breakfast/lunch) + $38 (campsite fee and late payment fee) = $54.33.

Day 12 - West Salem, WI to Trempealeau, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ a wet view of the Black River - La Crosse County, WI +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 382 miles (615 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0