The Rhododendron Garden - Winterlude 2022 - CycleBlaze

February 20, 2023

The Rhododendron Garden

A short post for a short ride.  Also, note that this might be the last ride for at least several days because of the weather changes ahead.  Most of the days in the coming two weeks are likely to be wet, and maybe even white; and those that may be dry look like they’ll be hard-pressed to break freezing.  Rachael’s cold is still with her but doing enough better that she hiked over to Fred Meyers for some grocery shopping as her big adventure for the day.   I have other plans for mine though.

REI has mastered the trick of threading cables on a folding bike so that it will still fold, and mine now folds nicely when I stuff it in the car when I pick it up after morning coffee.  I don’t have much of a ride in mind, but my priority is to give one last shot at finding a wood duck so I head off to the rhododendron garden near Reed College because wood ducks are on their check list.  No guarantees of course, but maybe I’ll be lucky today.

We’ve passed by the Rhododendron Garden many times, but have never stopped in before.  I’ve heard about it often enough, because it’s one of Elizabeth’s favorite spots in town.  Her walking group makes it over there fairly often.  For whatever reason it never quite caught my imagination, but when I saw they might have wood ducks on display and that admission is free on Mondays it was obvious the time had come.

Elizabeth’s right - it is a beautiful place.  None of the rhododendrons are in bloom yet of course, but impressive rhododendrons are everywhere lining the network of foot paths that surround Crystal Springs Lake.  And it’s not just the rhodies either.  There are impressive trees and shrubs, a pair of scenic wooden bridges, a small waterfall, some early bloomers, and lovely sight lines across the lake.

I can’t say it’s much of a birding hotspot at the moment though.  There are a few of the usual suspects flitting around in the trees, but really just a few waterfowl on the lake.  Not much, but just enough.

In the Rhododendron Garden.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I especially liked this rhododendron. It reminded me of a crepe maple.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A Lenten rose. I think this is the third straight year I’ve had to look it up. Maybe next year I’ll finally remember.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltI saw that and thought "That looks like my sister's Helleborus!"

Ummm, yeah, I just never heard them called Lenten rose... Learn something every day! Now, if only I could remember half the stuff I learn!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
In the Rhododendron Garden.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I was admiring this shrub and pulling the camera out when a volunteer came by and said I should get close enough to smell its wonderful fragrance. I tried that, but as usual nothing happened. Very pretty though. A Japanese viburnum, I think she said.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another Lenten rose.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The first rhododendron just coming into bloom. I should come back on another free Monday in a few weeks.
Heart 4 Comment 0
In the Rhododendron Garden.
Heart 3 Comment 0
In the Rhododendron Garden.
Heart 2 Comment 0
In the Rhododendron Garden.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Ooh, I know this one without even looking it up.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another Lenten rose? If I say it enough times maybe it will sink in.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looks like these just popped out in the last few days. If the coming cold doesn’t kill everything off we could be seeing spring soon.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We saw this bird just yesterday!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Hooded mergansers are another bird you can spot and identify at a distance by their behavior. They’ll just drift along and then suddenly submerge briefly and create a shower cloud as they frantically beat their wings.
Heart 4 Comment 0
#113: Wood duck! The females are so drab, don’t you think?
Heart 4 Comment 0
Can you believe this bird? It doesn’t look like it can be real.
Heart 5 Comment 5
Ben ParkeIn the summer I’ve usually got a couple pair of wood ducks on the pond/lake out back. Fun to watch them float by.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bruce LellmanWood duck houses are big wooden boxes with a big hole in them. It's so funny to watch wood ducks enter them. There is no perch outside the hole because they don't want one. They fly 30mph directly into that hole. Amazing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanYow! I wonder if they ever miss? It sounds like a Monty Python scene.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bruce LellmanTo Scott AndersonThey never miss.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

____________________ 

2023 Bird List

     113. Wood duck

Today's ride: 13 miles (21 km)
Total: 1,612 miles (2,594 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Ron SuchanekThat's a great place. If you're in the area spring/summer/fall, you'll see a lot more birds.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bruce LellmanTo Ron SuchanekIt's no use, Ron. The Anderson birds summer in Europe now with only brief stopovers here.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago