The Birthday Ride - Winterlude 2022 - CycleBlaze

December 31, 2022

The Birthday Ride

Conditions conspire against me and I can find no good excuse this morning for putting off my annual attempt to bike my age in miles.  It’s still within the same month of my birthday, so that’s nice and better than I usually do.  It’s the last day of the year, which sounds cool as the timing for this great feat.  We’re in Tucson, with its many miles of quiet, safe, reasonably flat miles to select from - much better than that crazy idea I had to bike up hilly San Felipe Road last week in Borrego Springs.  Most of all though, there’s the weather situation.  It looks ideal today - partly sunny, low winds, a comfortable temperature; and tomorrow looks terrible - high winds and rain all day - so it’s the ideal setup.  I’ll beat myself up today and then just loaf around all day tomorrow.

Set against all of this, my counter-arguments - I’m old, lazy, and maybe this is a pretty stupid idea in the first place - don’t count for much.  I draw out a route, Rachael loads it, and I’m off before 8:30.  It would have been sooner but it’s only 44 at dawn and I can afford to wait another hour for the day to warm up a degree as long as I’m careful about my time on the ride.  A near disaster is averted at the last minute when I avoid setting off without the nice lunch Rachael packed for me - trail mix and an everything bagel with peanut butter - when I notice that she somehow packed into her pannier instead of mine.  Whew!

It’s cold but sunny when I start out west on 4th Street for Saint Mary’s and the Loop.  The low sun is in my eyes though, so I feel sheepish but pleased a half block later when the Garmin points out that I’m going the wrong direction.  ‘Go east, young man’ it helpfully suggests, and so I do.

So that’s a lot of blather about setting off, because there’s not that much to be said about the ride itself.  It’s just a long ride, one that leaves me tired and sore at the end when downtown mercifully finally shows up.  I do fine with it,and early on in the ride it feels like it will be no big deal.  I can probably keep this up until I’m 80, I’m telling myself biking up the Oro Valley - maybe even until I’m 85 before cutting over to measuring the milestone in kilometers or getting an eBike.  Remember Robert Marchand, the incomparable Frenchman who was still setting world records on his track bike at the age of 105?

By the time I slow-pedal my way back up 4th street eight hours later though, I’m back to wondering about whether this is really such a bright idea after all.  We’ll have to see about next year.

There are a couple of particulars to note about the day though.  One is that the day is nearly a bust from a wildlife perspective.  I get a pair of nice shots early on in the ride, but that’s really it.  There’s almost always something special to highlight these loop rides, and I leave home thinking I might see a coyote or bobcat; a ferruginous hawk or a curve-billed thrasher; a vermillion flycatcher or a cactus wren.  But nope - I content myself with a few distant Gila woodpeckers and a pair of very fleeting glances at fast disappearing roadrunners.  The roadrunners are an admittedly nice touch at least - including the one Rachael saw today, the team has a 2.5 roadrunners/riding day average.  But especially after all of yesterday’s sightings it’s a disappointment.

The other note is that Rachael took her own ride - an impressive 51 mile out-and-back up the northeast side of the Loop and up Harrison Wash.   noteworthy for the ride itself which she pronounced excellent; and for her roadrunner sighting; and for her sighting of yours truly.  We expected this - I drew up both routes so I knew the odds of us crossing paths was excellent, and warned her to be watching for me.  She was ready, and when she saw me coming fired up the GoPro to capture a few stills from.  The shocker was when she unloaded the footage later and thought she was seeing double.  Right when I was approaching her I was overtaken by another rider dressed almost exactly like me.  Very wierd coincidence. 

Some morning doves.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Along Rillito Wash.
Heart 7 Comment 0
First phainopepla of the season. Nice that he showed up, because hardly any other birds did today.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltNice to see a "black cardinal" again! :-)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
From the northwest corner of the loop: a view of Safford Peak.
Heart 2 Comment 0
In Oro Valley, biking toward the north end of the Catalina Range.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Along Rillito Wash: some new Loop Art, sited just two months ago: Atlas and the World, designed and created by sculptor Al Glann.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A terrible roadrunner shot, but the best available.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking north toward Mount Lemmon from Pantano Wash.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rachael didn’t mind me picking up a cycling buddy for my Big Ride - it didn’t sound like much fun to her anyway. She would like to know when we can get our matching jerseys too though. Below is a short video of the meetup.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Rich FrasierThat dude's not leaving Rachael much room. I hope she was stopped when this picture was taken. Too close a pass IMO!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Rich FrasierThanks for the comment. It’s actually a woman! I added a short clip of the encounter.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The Rincon Range, from Harrison Wash.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The long view along Harrison Wash to Mount Lemmon.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The best angle on the spiky Tucson Mountains.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rincon Peak, from Kelly’s View. Nice of this rider to show up the right time, especially since she’s wearing Kelly’s color.
Heart 4 Comment 4
Kelly IniguezAh, my favorite spot! I have not seen the Atlas and the World sculpture, despite riding the Rillito on an almost daily basis. What is it close to?

Congratulations on riding your birthday miles! Having a goal is fun.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Kelly IniguezI didn’t notice exactly where it was, but it’s on the north bank of the Rillito Wash. I think it was just east of that stainless steel horse that went up last year. I see that they’re both by the same sculptor.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezThe horse I definitely know. Perhaps I am not paying good enough attention. Did you admire the new coating of black top along that section? It's too bad their crack repair wasn't a bit smoother . . .
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill Shaneyfelt"Kelly’s View..." I like that.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Finally! I thought I’d never get within sight of downtown again. Only five miles to go now.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Whew, I passed my annual physical! Should be good for another year now.
Heart 8 Comment 6
Patrick O'HaraAmazing. Nice work, Scott! Inspirational.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterCongrats! Great way to finish out a memorable 2022. Happy New Year to you and Rachael
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierYes, congratulations!! An inspiring ride! Happy new year to you both!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bob DistelbergGreat job Scott! Happy New Year!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ron SuchanekGreat job, Scott!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ron SuchanekGreat job, Scott!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Ride stats today: 76 miles, 2,000’; for the tour: 510 miles, 20,900’

Today's ride: 76 miles (122 km)
Total: 510 miles (821 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Bruce LellmanGood for you, Scott. I’m going to ride my age this year too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsWell done! I'd be tempted to try for a (100 - my age) formula.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanTotal for the whole year, or in one go?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bruce LellmanTo Scott AndersonWhat kind of question is that!? OK, I was going to buy you coffee the next time we get together but not now. I'll have you know I'm in great shape (at the moment). I would have no problem doing my age or even your age and if there are no big hills I'd leave my four heavy panniers on for good measure! (Of course this is all big talk and I haven't actually done it.)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanWell, sure. It’s still pretty easy at your age. Wait until YOU’RE 76!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonChapeau - I'm impressed. Who cares what you do next year.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanWell, if you're getting in on the fun so will I. I'm gonna ride my age this year. I'm 32. I think.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago