Montaña de Oro State Park - Winterlude 2022 - CycleBlaze

February 10, 2023

Montaña de Oro State Park

We’ll begin today’s post with a few brief news items.  First, there’s the fact that we’re decamping again, have a longish drive ahead with a dinner date at the end of the day, and don’t have a lot of time to spend on such foolishness as this post.  So, it’s another blitz affair.

Second, Rachael set a new PB (personal best, not peanut butter, fyi) on the walking front: 14.5 miles, 3,700’ of climbing, and three more peaks bagged - Valencia, Oats and Alan.  Actually, she had to recross Oats and Valencia on the way back, so she’s claiming five for the day.

Third, she woke up this morning with her body declaring that enough’s enough.  No more peaks for awhile dammit, her joints and muscles scream at her.  Fortunately for them, the upcoming drive is just what the doctor ordered.

Fourth, about the ankle.  It’s doing better - much better, in fact.  I did a fair amount of walking myself, by the standards of the last few days - four, maybe five miles?  And my ankle doesn’t feel normal yet by any means, but dare I say it’s starting to feel normalish?  Yes, I do dare.  It’s our blog, after all.  Who cares if normalish is actually a word?

Fifth, at the end of the day Team Anderson is united again.  Things looked iffy for awhile though at the end of the day, when I sat in the car for over a half hour by the outhouse we agreed to meet at, listening to the news and starting to get impatient that Rachael was so far behind schedule.  Finally I decided to give her a call to see when she’d arrive, and was distressed to find I was sitting in a dead zone.  I started up the car immediately and drove up the road looking for her, and was relieved to came across her a minute later looking and sounding quite distressed herself.  She’d been trying for a half hour to find or contact me and was about to give up and try to hitchhike back to town.  Oddly enough, phone service returned almost immediately after I rose up out of the depression the outhouse sits in.

Sixth, Montaña de Oro State Park is a gorgeous place.  It’s our second time here, and hopefully not the last; and hopefully next time I can go back up to the amazing viewpoint on Valencia Peak myself.  For today though it was wonderful staying on the flats just walking along the bluff trail taking in the waves and the fantastic rock formations.

See for yourself.  For a change, we pooled our landscape photos into a joint slideshow:

Video sound track: Song for Alex, by Yasmin Williams

Rachael’s hike got off to a slow start when I realized I may not have locked the car. I called her up to see if she was still near the car. She wasn’t particularly, but at least she was closer and faster than me and had her own set of keys.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Her hike, in her words:

Today is my last day in my quest to hike some more peaks.  My hike included Valencia Peak, Oats Peak and Alan Peak.  What I didn’t think about is that my route back took me over Oats Peak and Valencia Peak again so I’m claiming 5 peaks.  The climb to the first 2 peaks were sunny with beautiful views.  During my climb to Alan Peak a fog rolled in which was amazing to watch.  As I made my way back, the fog gradually lifted.  What an amazing hike!

Wonderful views. I wish I’d been up there with her.
Heart 3 Comment 0
At the top. One down, two to go.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

My own much shorter and easier day began with a loop walk along the Bluff Trail and then back along another trail back from and above the bluff.  A gorgeous walk.  

A representative view from the bluff. It’s amazing like this the whole way.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Ron SuchanekDepending on weather, we are planning on doing the bluff trail tomorrow.
Have you guys been to Los Osos State Natural Area? It's in town on Los Osos Valley Road. It's spectacular, with hundreds of ancient Coastal, Live and other Oaks. Amazing and free. It's a flat 30 minute experience and totally worth it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Ron SuchanekNo, I missed it. That was where I was aiming for when I ended up at the Sweet Springs Preserve actually, but I drove right past it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Any ideas?
Heart 4 Comment 1
Keith AdamsBefore I ask Google I'm putting my money on some type of iris.

[checks Google Lens]

Dammit. Google's response is in Latin: Raphanus sativus var. oleiformis so I have no idea whether I was correct. Oh wait: when I click on a similar image in the search results it says it's "fodder radish" or wild radish. Dammit I wasn't even close. Mudder mudder mudder...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
How about this one?
Heart 1 Comment 2
Keith AdamsI'm sure Bill Shaneyfelt will be along soon to correct me but how about either locoweed (which evidently is a whole group of plants, per https://bonide.com/weed/locoweed/). Don't eat it, though:

"The term loco is from Spanish roots and generally means crazy in English. The signs of 'locoism' include aggression, hyperactivity, salivation, increasing miscoordination, seizures, and death."

or

Astragalus Nuttallii (Nuttall's Milkvetch)?

https://www.americansouthwest.net/plants/wildflowers/astragalus-nuttallii.html

According to the info in that link: "Astragalus nuttallii can be recognized by its white flowers, the vertical inflorescence, the relatively large number of leaflets (21 to 43) of its compound leaves and the location - plants are restricted to coastal areas, of central to north California."

Perhaps it's two faces of a single coin?

https://rockymountainsflora.com/details/White%20Long/Milkvetch.htm says:

"The Astragalus genus is very large and individual species are identified by their seed pod rather than their flower. Common names include Milkvetch and Locoweed, which is also used for the Oxytropis genus."
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Keith AdamsGood call!
Yeah, some species of Astragalus, but hard to tell which. There are about half a dozen species in that area according to one site.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
91: Pelagic cormorant
Heart 1 Comment 0
We all know this one, I’m sure.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This one too.
Heart 3 Comment 0
OK. A second representative photo.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Valencia Peak starts disappearing into the fog. I start wondering how Rocky’s doing up there.
Heart 2 Comment 0
One more challenge for the research team.
Heart 2 Comment 3
Kathleen JonesLeaves are like sticky monkey flower, but blossoms are much yellower than the orange I’m used to. Are they trumpet-like?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Kathleen JonesI’ve never heard of sticky monkey flower, but that looks right. The Picture This app agrees with you, and shows images of both yellow and orange blossoms.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltAgreed it is monkey flower. Of the 5 species in that area, looks like probably sticky monkey flower.

https://calphotos.berkeley.edu/cgi/img_query?query_src=photos_index&rel-taxon=begins+with&where-taxon=Diplacus+aurantiacus
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
And this tree? A cypress or juniper?
Heart 1 Comment 3
Kathleen JonesI bet on Monterey cypress.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Kathleen JonesYou'd probably win your bet, or at least Google Lens agrees with you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltI agree... cypress or juniper. But it sure looks more like cypress.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

That took me about two hours; so with an abundance of time on my hands and few birds in evidence on the bluff I drove back down to Los Osos for some bayside birding and a pleasant break at a cafe, sitting in the sun enjoying my ham and cheese croissant and coffee and trying to decide if these are Brewers blackbirds or cowbirds hopping around nearby.

Two or three hours later I called Rachael to get an ETA, learning that she’s still three miles from the end - an hour plus maybe?  So, a bit more birding and then I drive back up, park by the outhouse, and wait.  And wait.  And wait.  Later we’ll listen to the poignant messages she left on my phone, her voice quavering as she implores me to call her.  It gave us something interesting to talk about on the way back to town.

92: California scrub-jay
Heart 3 Comment 1
An ornamental, by the waterfront in Los Osos.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltProbably some kind of aloe.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aloe
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
93: Greater yellowlegs
Heart 1 Comment 0
94: Western sandpiper
Heart 1 Comment 0
A coagulation of coots.
Heart 3 Comment 0
At the Audubon Society Sweet Springs Nature Reserve.
Heart 2 Comment 0
95: Chipping sparrow
Heart 5 Comment 0
Green-winged teals
Heart 2 Comment 0
Blue-winged teals
Heart 2 Comment 0
96: Cinnamon teal
Heart 2 Comment 0
At the Audubon Society Sweet Springs Nature Reserve.
Heart 1 Comment 0

____________________ 

2023 Bird List

     91. Pelagic cormorant

     92. California scrub-jay

     93. Greater yellowlegs

     94. Western Sandpiper

     95. Chipping sparrow

     96. Cinnamon teal

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Kathleen JonesSee any monarch butterflies in Sweet Springs?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Kathleen JonesNot there specifically, but here and there in the vicinity. Every time I see one I marvel that they can really fly so far.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesTo Scott AndersonNext time you pass through that area in the winter, a stop at the monarch sanctuary in Pismo Beach is well worth it. One of the largest populations in the state.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonWhat a great slide show!
Losing contact like that is scary!
I never thought that you would have 100 bird sightings before you leave for Italy, but now obviously you will!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonNo problem! I’m surprised myself, but there’s no doubt that I’ll easily blow past 100 in our month in Portland.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonIt was scary!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago