Life with Susan, Day 1 - Winterlude 2022 - CycleBlaze

January 11, 2023

Life with Susan, Day 1

Over coffee the three of us brainstorm over plans for the day and for Susan’s entire stay.  There are several considerations to take into account, and it’s not easy to think through.  One is that Susan’s here at a suboptimal time - today and the next three days all look to be beautiful, but after that there are three straight days that are about ten degrees cooler, windier, and threaten rain.  Another is that this is Susan’s first time here and she wants to see and do everything, but there are more essential or worthy rides than there’s time for.  Another is that if we’re all going to ride together we’ll need to start from home, because we can’t stuff three adults and their bikes into the Raven.  And the other, unfortunately, is the state of my health.  My residual cough that began back in southern France has still not completely gone away.  It nearly had, and after a week when I hardly coughed at all it suddenly worsened just as Susan arrived - enough so that I wondered last night if I might have gotten reinfected with Covid and started this morning with a Covid self-test (negative!).

So after talking it all through, we end up with a tentative plan for these first, best days.  Today we’ll bike east to Saguaro National Park, make the 9 mile loop through it, and bike home again.  Tomorrow we’ll take an out and back on the Loop somewhere - most likely either northeast along Rillito and Harrison Washes, or southeast along Julian Wash.  Friday, Susan and I will hop in the car and drive south to Green Valley for the climb up into Madera Canyon, a ride I like but Rachael doesn’t care to go on.  Saturday, we’ve arranged a meet-up with Kelly to bike out to Marana for a picnic lunch by the lake together.

It’s a full day’s ride out to Saguaro and back, so we plan on bundling up and getting an early start.  We begin working our way out the door at 9:30, about as early as Rachael and I ever get underway.  We don’t get far though before I’m transfixed when I turn to close the gate behind me and almost lay my hand on a praying mantis.  Awesome!  What a wonderful way to begin a ride!

Vivian George comes to Tucson.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I was really startled when I turned back to close the gate to the house. A praying mantis! An Arizona mantis, specifically.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I didn’t notice it at the time, but I was intrigued by how well his color blends in with the reflected light on the corrugated steel door. I wonder if he knows this and thinks he’s camouflaged?
Heart 7 Comment 2
Jen RahnPray, praying mantis
Your leafy wings, buggy eyes
Long legs, L-shaped feet!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnIsn’t it a beautiful creature though? We’ll worth a haiku.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Only two blocks from home we’re faced with another situation, one that will thwart our plans for the day.  Susan announces that there’s a problem with her hydraulic disc brakes, and their stopping power is very soft.  Maybe we could take on this ride that way, but certainly the ride to Madera Canyon with its long, steep descent would be out of the question; so we do the smart thing and bike over to Fair Wheel Bikes to help them celebrate their fiftieth anniversary by tossing some additional business their way.

Back at Free Wheel Bikes, so Susan can get her hydraulic disc brakes bled and buy a new bike jersey. She bought the one I really wanted when we were here earlier but they didn’t have in my size.
Heart 2 Comment 0

A half an hour later, both brake lines bled and back in a working state, we’re on the move again.  It’s an easy decision to drop the plan for Saguaro for the day as too ambitious at this point, so we head north on Mountain for the Loop with a plan to bike east along Rillito and south along Harrison until it feels time to turn back.

It’s sunny but surprisingly chilly as we bike north on Mountain.  We’re happy to finally reach the Loop and feel the wind behind us once we turn east up Rillito Wash.  We won’t be as happy later in the afternoon though when we bike home into a wind that has stiffened significantly during the day.

The mural on Mountain Avenue. We’ve passed it many times, now, but it’s new to Susan and worth stopping for.
Heart 2 Comment 0
On the Loop again, or for the first time.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Eastbound on Rillito Wash.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rachael does it again, and spots another roadrunner. Susan’s trying to get a shot of it, but it’s not too cooperative.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was a little quicker on the draw and had more luck.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Crossing Craycroft Road. There’s a bit of water still running down Rillito Wash at its upper end, but it’s dry another half mile downstream.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pit stop. Three bikes and a palo verde.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Fifteen miles into the ride, I realize I’m taking on too much - my cough is bothering me and I’m worried about getting overexposed and making things worse.  I bail out and head back for home on my own, while Rachael and Susan continue out Harrison for another seven miles.  Rachael’s taken this ride solo a number of times so they don’t need me hacking along behind them to find their way home again.

Fifteen miles into the ride I realize I should be paying attention to my cold and head back.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rachael and Susan continue on for another six miles before they’ve had enough. The remaining photos are all Susan’s.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lunch stop.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Along Harrison Wash.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Rincons and cacti.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Creosote, cholla, and a barrel cactus
Heart 4 Comment 0
Some sort of cholla. Bill will know.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill Shaneyfelt"Bill will know." -places on the internet to maybe find out...

Of the around a dozen kinds of cholla in the area, I think it most closely resembles silver cholla.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/49357/browse_photos
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Northbound again down Harrison Wash, with Mount Lemmon ahead.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Another pit stop.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Batty Biker, one of the many public art works along the loop. This one, installed in 2015, is sited along Pantano Wash where it intersects Broadway. It pays homage to the bikers on the loop and the bats that roost beneath the bridge.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Video sound track: Starbeightt, by Keith Jarrett

I make it home by around two, glad to be out of the wind, and hop under the covers to warm up and take a nap.  The two of them return an hour or so later, and eventually conversation turns to dinner and the plan for the week.  One thing feels certain - I really shouldn’t be going to a restaurant this evening, so they go out on their own to Bacio (the same place we ate with the Branhams last week) and return with fettuccini Bolognese and a Caesar salad for me.  It’s a good sign that my appetite is normal.  I’m not feverish, so maybe things will be fine in the morning.  Wait and see.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Ride stats today: 44 miles, 1,100’; for the tour: 932 miles, 34,800’

____________________

2023 Bird List

     Nothing to report

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 883 miles (1,421 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Keith AdamsHere's hoping for a quick return to full health.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith AdamsThanks, Keith. I hope so too. I’m sick of this crud.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jen RahnGlad you were able to get back and rest.

And how awesome to have a tasty meal delivered!

Hope your body gets all the rest it needs with minimal interruption by coughing!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonThanks, Jen. I’m definitely ready for a clean bill of health.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago