Coyote Canyon - Winterlude 2022 - CycleBlaze

December 28, 2022

Coyote Canyon

Two days ago I had ambitious thoughts of riding my age in miles today and even drew out the route for it, a fairly challenging one with more climbing than usual: a double out and back starting from Shelter Valley, first biking south toward Ocotillo Wells and back and then north up the San Felipe afterwards.  A great ride under the right conditions, but those aren’t the ones we’re facing this morning.  It’s sunny and comfortably warm, but at least as windy as it was yesterday.  With those sand-blowing gusts yesterday fresh in my mind, there’s no way I’m going to voluntarily sign on for a 76 miler with almost 4,000’ of climbing.  My birthday ride will have to wait for Tucson again this year.

And speaking of Tucson, we’re leaving town soon (I’m writing this up the following morning), it’s a long six hour drive, we have a dinner reservation at six to show up for, we lose an hour driving east into a new time zone, and I’m out of time.  Take my word for it and use the photos as evidence - it was a brilliant hike, a nine mile out and back up Coyote Canyon starting from pavement’s end on Di Giorgio Road.  There’s a Jeep track I could have followed, but it was much better just walking up the dry wash.  Other than a few 4WD types I saw crossing the track in a few spots, I had the wash to myself for the next four hours.

Four hours of walking through the mud and sand was enough though.  I was glad to see the car at the end, and even happier to wash the ibuprofen down with my beer while I waited for Rachael to return and rave about how wonderful her own hike was today.

Next stop, Tucson!  See you there.

Looking north toward Coyote Canyon at the start of the hike.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I was excited by this black phoebe not long after I started walking, thinking it might be a good birding day. Nope. Too windy.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I quickly became fascinated by the cracked mud and its infinite variety of patterns. At first it slowed me down because I didn’t want to step on and crush any of it.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Tracks of some kind. Maybe a bobcat? Rachael made me jealous when she said she saw one after leaving me behind on yesterday’s ride.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A typical look for the day.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Raccoon? There are animal tracks everywhere here.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I’m pretty sure that after our species has had its run there will still be the ants.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is so impressive. I wish I had that kind of core strength.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltHarvester ants are interesting.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Another first, as far as I can remember. I don’t think I’ve ever seen creosote in bloom. There’s just this one bush today but it must be amazing to be here for the real bloom.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltThis is about as real as creosote blooms go.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Along Coyote Creek.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A cholla log. That wouldn’t be such a hilarious line if I remembered my Spanish pronunciation better.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The verbena makes such a brilliant accent to these muddy scenes.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another cat?
Heart 3 Comment 0
Ghost bush and verbena.
Heart 3 Comment 0
An Arizona lupine! Like the blooming creosote, this was the only one I saw today.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Despite its name, Arizona lupine is prolific in Southern California, and the most common lupine in San Diego County.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Airborne (you can see it’s shadow)! It’s very windy today, and when I stooped over to examine the lupine the wind lifted my crush hat off my skull and sent it flying and skidding across the sand. I was lucky to have the camera already out and open, but the hat was fifty yards down the wash before I caught up with it.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltWhy my hats have a chin strap.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The first hint that there might be water ahead.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Is this just a partially opened evening primrose, or something else?
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like brown eyed primrose. Evening primrose has larger blossoms.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/76333/browse_photos
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltCool! I thought it seemed different.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
After about three miles walking up the dry wash I come to the water. Progress is a little slower now as I have to walk higher up where it’s sandier.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltProbably smoke tree.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/58453/browse_photos
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltOh, that’s right. Thanks!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
I know this one, but I forget.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauSince this species is so rare, I'll help you out. Does "Orange-Winged, Miniature California Condor" ring a bell? I'm pretty sure that's what it is, based on its huge orange wingspan and miniature-ness.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Gregory GarceauYes,I’m sure you’re right. Wait, let me Google it to make sure. Oh.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nearing Ocotillo Flats, the farthest point I’ll reach today.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not one I recognize. It was hard to get a decent shot because the wind was so strong.
Heart 1 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltGonna guess rubber rabbitbrush.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/57934/browse_photos
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltYeah, I’d have been thinking that way too, if I’d ever heard of it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Scott AndersonIf in doubt, pinch and sniff...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Borrego bagel break. Brilliant!
Heart 5 Comment 1
Gregory GarceauYour hike and Rocky's hike were both excellent, so I can't decide which one was better. However, I can say that your picnic spot was . . .

Sorry I couldn't finish. I thought it would be funny to secretly tell each of you that your picnic spots were the best, but then I realized I'd probably be exposed as a fraud if, and when, you compared notes. Actually, they were equal--just like the hikes themselves.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Cholla forest, Ocotillo Flats. I walked through it very gingerly. I’ve been jumped by a jumping cholla before and don’t need to repeat the experience.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltTeddy bears... white tops and black trunks.
Yup, with those nasty barbed spines, once is more than enough!

https://news.illinois.edu/view/6367/719663
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Raging Coyote Creek. When the wind dies down I can hear the water trickling down it.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Ron SuchanekStay outta there. The current will suck you down.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Ron SuchanekOn the right day it just might. Pretty quiet this time though.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Another manifestation of dried mud. Looks like palm fronds.
Heart 5 Comment 1
One last blast of verbena before we leave the valley.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Gregory GarceauI do like all that purple scattered among the gray-brown landscape.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0