Columbia Slough - Winterlude 2022 - CycleBlaze

February 16, 2023

Columbia Slough

The day begins with what’s becoming the standard for this month - looking east to observe the dawn.  Yesterday a dense fog, today a brilliant sunrise that briefly turns the Willamette crimson.  No Mount Hood though, which apparently is hidden behind the tower to our east.  

River on fire.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Coffee date!  In a long overdue reunion, I drive over to the Clinton Street Coffeehouse to meet with Bruce for the first time in nearly a year - not since right before we left for Barcelona last March.  There’s a fair amount of catching up to be done, and we make a good start.

CycleBlaze meetup #6: Bruce Lellman. We took a shot at this same spot in the Clinton Street Coffeehouse last winter. We’ll have to make it an annual tradition.
Heart 9 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanThe last time we saw each other was when you took the last shot here. It was six days short of a year ago. I guess we have both been busy!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ron SuchanekThis answers my question from the previous post.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The look a year ago (2/22/22). Do we look any older? I think Bruce looks more relaxed this year. He was still stiff from his healing back last year.
Heart 2 Comment 4
Janice BranhamYou look the same, even the same clothes?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Janice BranhamClose, except for the ankle brace this time.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Janice BranhamHe’s wearing a pendleton shirt but it’s a different color. I don’t want you to think he only has one!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Andrea BrownI was thinking you both were wearing the same clothes, too, even the shoes, ha.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Think, the thinking man’s car of choice.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanI love my Think City all electric car. I think it may have been made in Finland but it's hard to find out any info on these cars. I know that the U.S. got 500 of them in 2011 and that was it. The previous owner in California had a sunroof put in and it may be the only Think with one. I guess you can't really be a Californian if you don't have a sunroof. I like the heater most of all! It gets so hot I think I could bake a chicken in there.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It’s dry again today, and a useful couple of degrees warmer.  Rocky and I both decide to get out on our bikes, but to go our own way.  Neither of us is sure how far or fast we’re going to bike, and have different priorities.  I plan to head north toward the Columbia, testing out my ankle again and keeping an eye out for the birds.  Rachael mostly wants to get enough of a ride in to test out her new cycling shoes and to check out the Straggler before I pack away her Bike Friday for Italy.

I dress more appropriately for the ride and the cold today rather than yesterday when I just rode my street clothes, my Pendleton and rain jacket.  Today I wear a biking outfit - bike shoes, shorts and leggings, bike jersey, long sleeved jersey, and my Pendleton and rain jacket again.  With four layers up top I should be fine.  Also I take my warm gloves just in case, although I never end up putting them on and don’t really need them.  It has to be really cold for me to wear them because I can’t manipulate the camera with them on and it’s a nuisance to take them off whenever I see something I want to take a shot of.

And I decide to try biking without the ankle brace, but pack it along just in case.  A half a mile from home I find an empty bench along the waterfront where I sit down long enough to put the brace on after all, because it’s apparent it’s still needed.  The main issue is pulling my foot out of the cleat, which makes me wince a bit until I find the right twisting motion.  It would probably be fine to ride without it, but it feels like a safety issue if I have to make a sudden stop.

The Willamette is totally slack this morning as I look south toward the Hawthorne Bridge.
Heart 7 Comment 0
And north toward the Burnside.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The bird I expect to see, one of the gulls that always seems to be perched on a post of the fence along the river, fails me again today.  I’m really surprised that I don’t see a single gull all day, as was the case yesterday also.   I’ve not noticed this before.  Do they not make it inland in the winter?  Maybe the next rains or coastal storms will drive them inland.

What does surprise and delight me though is a downy woodpecker that swoops in and lands on a bankside alder as I’m climbing away from the river.  This is really lucky.  I know they’re around - their lookalike cousins the hairy woodpeckers also - but I don’t really expect to see one.  I’m frustrated at first trying to find him with the camera, his body poorly visible against the dark trunk of his tree.  He flies off before I get even one shot off and I assume I’ve lost my chance, but then he alights again just twenty feet away a much more visible perch.

#103: Downy woodpecker
Heart 5 Comment 0

I haven’t decided for sure where or how far I’m going today.  I started out with Kelly Point on my mind, but it’s getting late in the day for that long of a ride so I decide to just bike north on Williams and then Vancouver until reaching the Columbia Slough.  I’ll ride along it for a ways and then double back east along the Columbia to the path near the airport.  There are always birds of interest on the slough, and I want to include the airport path because for the last few winters there’s been a rough-legged hawk hanging out there.

I always enjoy biking south on Williams, a heavily used bike corridor.  Today it’s worth stopping for a couple of new murals that must have gone up since last winter.  And then, another surprise when I see a pair of flickers swooping in and settling high in a tree in the residential blocks north of Rosa Parks.  I pull off of course and spend several minutes hoping I’ll get a decent shot of one.  I don’t really though - they’re too high up, the lighting’s poor, and neither one will strike much of a pose for me - but after several minutes I start feeling self-conscious standing out in the street with my camera in a residential street and decide it’s time to move on.

New artwork on Williams since the last time I biked this way.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Janice BranhamHello my baby, hello my Honey, hello my ragtime gal
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
New also.
Heart 4 Comment 0
#104: Northern flicker
Heart 4 Comment 2
Ron SuchanekThere is a flicker in our neighborhood that has decided he/she/they wants/want to set up residence in the rafters of some of the houses. It pecks at the wood around the metal vent, apparently trying to gain entrance.
A couple people have put up shiny streamers to dissuade the bird, and we installed a big, scary beach ball with eyes. Not sure it's working.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Ron SuchanekThis reminds me of the day about 40 years ago when I biked over to visit Elizabeth when we were both living in Salem. When I arrived she was in a panic wondering what to do about the flicker perched on top of her curtain rod. It must have fallen down the chimney and come in through the fireplace somehow. It was great fun using a broom to steer it out the front door.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Columbia Slough doesn’t disappoint, although it doesn’t present any new species for me today.  I’m not surprised really - the ones I’m likely to see here at this time of year are all ones I’ve already seen further south.  Today there’s a pied-billed grebe, a common merganser, a double-crested cormorant, a pair of green-winged teals, some mallards, some coots, and geese everywhere -on the water, on the path, and flying in large V’s overhead.  And a great blue heron hunched in the reeds, giving me hope at first because of its posture that it might be a night heron so I take a snap just in case to check out later.

So, no new birds; but there is a very nice nutria drifting in the slough, his round tail oddly elevated out of the water.  I’ve not noticed this behavior before, but one of the things I read about nutria in writing this post is that they don’t live long (oh darn, I’m sure many of you are thinking), and one thing that happens with them in cold winters is that they get frost bitten tails.  So maybe he’s injured.

On the Columbia Slough.
Heart 6 Comment 0
After a goose-free month, suddenly they’re everywhere I look.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This is not a night heron.
Heart 9 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltAgreed.

https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Green_Heron/id#
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltOh! Are you thinking it’s a green heron? I hadn’t thought of that, but maybe. It looks more likely to be an immature great blue though.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mammal #6: nutria. The wild mammals and wilder CycleBlazers are nose to nose at the first turn. Who will win out?
Heart 3 Comment 0

Leaving the slough, I bike north to the river with my eyes on the treetops watching for hawks and eagles.  I see a pair of red-tails, and then a kestrel on the wire that gives me a closer look than they often do before flying off.

After that I bike east along the river, fully expecting but still failing to see a gull.  And the rough-legged hawk fails to show when I come to the airport, but I do get some nice looks at the river and the mountain.

Two views of a kestrel.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Mount Hood has a ghostly look this afternoon.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The Oregon Slough Railroad Bridge. This and its companion on the other side of Hayden Island are the only surviving swing bridges in Oregon. This is the line jointly used by Amtrak and N-S freight traffic across the Columbia.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking across the narrower channel of the Columbia to Hayden Island.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Up, up and away.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Finally I turn for home - south on 33rd, and past its half-mile long unbroken string of transient housing - campers, junker cars, tents.  It’s a dismal scene, but it does look a little better organized and maintained than the last time I biked this way, and less like I’m traversing a war zone.  A bit of progress, maybe.

And then west on Dekum, south to the Willamette, and home.  Along the river there’s one last score for the day - a flock of cackling geese milling together in a tight formation pulling up grass.  They make a good show characteristic of this species, and one I should video next time.  And when I get home I look them up to confirm they’re really a distinct species separate from Canada geese.  And they are, since about 20 years ago when the classification gods decided that the umpteen subspecies of Canada geese were really two different species.  The smaller ones are the Cacklers and have some significant differences in spite of their visual similarities.  Once you see the differences it’s pretty apparent.

More new art, on Dekum Street in the Woodlawn neighborhood.
Heart 1 Comment 0
#105: Cackling goose. I’ll bet you thought these were just Canada geese.
Heart 3 Comment 6
Bill ShaneyfeltAt first glance, yeah! But the wider white head blotch and shorter neck...
Too bad none are turned to show their formal white collars though.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltAnd they really are smaller - especially the race we see here, along the pacific coast, which is the smallest of them all. Most distinctive though for me anyway is their group feeding behavior.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Scott AndersonC Gs do a lot of group feeding here during the winter, but are now starting to pair up. This winter, I have seen gaggles of 70 or more pecking at the grass.

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=10224443965142795&set=a.10224319116661661
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltYup. Ours too. It’s really not the same though. I’ll create a video next time.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Andrea BrownDid these used to be called "Lesser Canada Goose" or some such thing?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Andrea BrownHere’s a longer answer than you might have expected. The two species together include at least 11 subspecies. 7 are Canada geese, and four are Cacklers. Only two of the Canadians regularly occur in Oregon, but all four of the cacklers do - but only in the winter. They winter here and breed in the far north. One of the Canada goose subspecies is the lesser Canada goose.

So, the short answer: yes, lesser Canada geese are a thing; but they’re not cackling geese.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I’ve been tracking Rachael on the Garmin and see that she’s arrived home about five or ten minutes before me.  I’ve seen too that she got a surprisingly late start, having left for her ride just about two hours ago after unexpectedly finding herself taking an early afternoon nap.  She’s happy with her ride though -her shoes are fine, the bike’s fine.  Tomorrow, if the weather holds, we’ll drive out to Sauvie Island.

The day ends with us driving west to Beaverton for a jazz concert, the opening performance of the 2023 Portland Jazz Festival.  It’s a sellout crowd and a festive event - the first mask-optional, in person event since before the pandemic.  The MC announces this and notes that maybe life is starting to work back to normal, which prompts an angry, elderly voice to shout out “No, it’s not!!” From a few rows behind us.

The concert is terrific - an hour and a half performance of free-jazz from guitarist/composer Bill Frisell’s new ‘Four’ album, with his piano/reed/drum quartet.  We have two more festival performances coming up next week to look forward to.

____________________ 

2023 Bird List

     103. Downy woodpecker

     104. Northern flicker

     105. Cackling goose

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 1,502 miles (2,417 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0