An aside: the condo gallery - Winterlude 2022 - CycleBlaze

March 3, 2023

An aside: the condo gallery

A brief segue, having little to do with the current tour.  As some of you have noticed, one of my at-home projects this winter has been to retrieve the photos from our 2003 tour of Corsica and Provence and finally complete that journal.  In the course of doing that I resurrected several shots that were framed and hung on the wall of our condo for many years.  It occurred to me that I’ve never assembled all of these photos as a set, so I’m doing it now.  Most or all of the framed photos are buried in storage, but until we get a physical wall again some day I’ll hang them here for now.

All of them were from 2003 or older.  We bought our condo in 2002, and if I remember right I think we had most of them framed in that first year after we moved in.  The few from the 2003 tour were later additions I think, and the last ones we framed.  Unless we were going to retire some or cram others in, we’d already filled up enough wall space.

It was easy enough to find most of these photos, because they’re in other journals we published here.  The ones from 2001 (Firenze to Dubrovnik) and 2002 (Innsbruck to Geneva) have never been published though for the usual reasons.  These both look like good winter projects for the future.  

And, I see that one is still missing - a photo of me in a staring contest with a Holstein on a hike in Switzerland - we’re nearly touching nose to nose, as I recall it.  Hopefully the framed version is still there in storage.  I loved that shot.

October, 1993: Gordes, Provence. I’m not certain this is the same shot that hung on our wall. I’ve a suspicion that it was from our 2003 tour, but I can’t find that photo. We’ll know for sure if I ever find the framed version.
Heart 1 Comment 0
September, 1997: Èze, Provence. Èze Is a village toward the top of the Middle Corniche, one of the roads between Nice and Monaco. I took this shot and the following on n out and back from Nice on the day we arrived at the start of a tour. After repairing my flat tire I went for a ride while Rachael slept off her jet leg.
Heart 3 Comment 0
September, 1997: Èze, Provence.
Heart 1 Comment 0
September, 1997: from inside the Sagrada Familia, Barcelona. It looked much different when we saw it again last spring.
Heart 2 Comment 0
September, 1997: north of Salamanca
Heart 1 Comment 0
September, 2000: Carennac
Heart 2 Comment 0
September, 2000: The bridge across the Célé at Cabrerets. I spent over twenty years wondering where this bridge was, until we happened past it again last fall. I recognized it immediately.
Heart 3 Comment 0
September, 2000: the towpath on the Lot, near Bouzies. Another spot we revisited last year, on a walk with Susan, Steve and Ann.
Heart 4 Comment 0
September, 2000: in the Basque Pyrenees. We were sitting at the border looking back into France when we sensed something behind us and turned around.
Heart 3 Comment 0
September 10, 2001: Pitigliano, Tuscany. We visited this spot again in 2008, but the broom was gone.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauI love a good broom photo. Graham Finch has dedicated a couple of them to me.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Gregory GarceauYes, I know. This shot came to mind every time I saw those.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
September, 2001: at the summit of Sveti Iljia, on the Peljesac Peninsula, Croatia. This was on a hike from Korcula, one of my favorite hikes ever. I’d love to repeat it but don’t think I could make the climb any more.
Heart 2 Comment 0
September, 2002: Gruyère, Switzerland
Heart 1 Comment 2
Graham FinchThis one looks like a watercolour.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Graham FinchYes. That’s true for several of the shots on this unpublished tour. I don’t know what that was about, but I think it was the last one shot on an instamatic.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
June, 2003: Santa Maria Tower, Cap Corse, Corsica. We visited this spot again in 2008, at the very start of a loop from Pisa through Corsica, Umbria, and Tuscany. I was taking a shot of this tower when my camera slipped from my hand and was dashed on the rocks.
Heart 2 Comment 0
July, 2003: Vaison-la-Romaine
Heart 2 Comment 1
Graham FinchYou're before your time.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
July, 2003: Roussillon. We had these three shots framed as a triptych, possibly in this sequence. I can’t recall for sure.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0