Two faces of recovery - Winterlude 2021 - CycleBlaze

February 19, 2022

Two faces of recovery

Two radiant faces to start off the weekend.  The first is our friend Frank, setting off on his bicycle for the first time since falling and fracturing his hip last autumn; and the second is of course Rocky, from dinner last night after having the packing removed from her nose yesterday afternoon.  You’ll be happy to hear that she’s been given a clean bill of health, although they had to cauterize a few blood vessels that still needed an extra bit of help to stop draining.

Actually there should be three photos in this small gallery.  I failed to take a photo of Bruce from our coffee meet-ups, but it’s been just as uplifting to see his smiling face as the two below, looking whole and hale again after his horrific fall from a ladder last summer.

And, I’ve reconsidered and have decided to keep this journal active for a few weeks longer.  Part of the reason I’ve gone silent recently is that I’ve gone inert.  Out of solidarity with Rachael’s enforced inactivity I’ve pretty much turned sloth for the last week or so.  It just seemed the proper thing to do - why rub her already sensitive nose in it by wheeling around town enjoying the sun and keeping fit?  She’s been given the green light to start light activity again though so while she’s taking walks I’ll start biking again too, weather permitting.  Might as well post about it when I do, just to keep myself honest.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 12
Steve Miller/GrampiesNice meal, beautiful lady.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Andrea BrownYay! Yay! Yay! Look at that smile.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThanks!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonTo Andrea BrownIt’s great, to not have packing in my nose. I’ve heading out on an ash walk along the waterfront after lunch, Yipee!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bruce LellmanIt's so good to see that you are recovering, Rachael. Hopefully it will all have been worth it and you will be able to breathe better than ever.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonThanks. When I think what you had to go through I feel like such a weenie. Your amazing!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham FinchGreat to see the full face again!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Graham FinchYes, I think so too.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonThat nose packing must have been a real pain. Bike packing would be better. Good that you can start exercising again! Burgundy is calling.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezIsn't it nice to have that experience over with? Hopefully you will have the desired results. Let the fun begin!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonYes, I’m very glad it’s over. I can’t wait to get on the bike again but the weather looks wet and/or very cold for the foreseeable future. I guess I used all the good weather up in Tucson and California.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jen RahnYay! You look bright and pain-free .. and back to your happy self!

Look forward to hearing about how it feels to breathe while riding.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Susan CarpenterDelighted to see Rachael’s smiling face!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
frank jellisonI fell off of my Bianchi while going 5 MPH on June 4th. I did not expect to ever ride again mostly due to fear of falling. With the gentle encouragement of my wife, my daughters and old friends like Scott I finally decided to get back on my old mountain bike after eight and a half months. I had it tuned and new tires and tubes installed. With advice from Scott I have ordered a Bike Friday New World Tourist and I expect to see it come mid/ late April. Unlike the folks on this site, I don't do any touring but wanted a bike with wide tires, a lower center of gravity along with allowing me to put my repaired leg through it rather that trying to get over the saddle. Scott has been a great friend for forty years and he has helped me with plenty of advice about bikes.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo frank jellisonFrank,

Congratulations for facing the dragon and overcoming! Scott is a friend to many. His wise words are appreciated. Have him post a photo, after you get your bike? I bet your smile will cover your face!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo frank jellisonI was surprised to be reminded that it was so long ago, but that’s right of course. It was right after we’d just arrived in Minneapolis.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago