Settling in - Winterlude 2021 - CycleBlaze

February 7, 2022 to February 9, 2022

Settling in

Today’s ride

It was somewhat embarrassing to have only two miles of cycling to report on the previous post; so how sheepish do you suppose I feel to have only two miles to report again, and this time for a post that covers three days!  And I can’t blame it on the weather, which has been in general foggy in the morning but otherwise fine. 

The Rodriguez hasn’t left the upstairs shower that it shares with Rachael’s Straggler since Sunday, until today when I finally took it out for a spin again - a short one, down to Caffe Ponte for coffee and a jalapeño scone.  It’s an easy ride, coasting down to the waterfront on Columbia Street.  This morning there’s a dramatic sunrise developing ahead of me, and I see that I’m just a few minutes too late because it’s passing its peak by the time I reach the river.  I’m sure I’ll repeat this short workout several times during our stay here, so I’ll try to work on my timing.  

The view east on Columbia Street this morning makes for an inspiring start to the day.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Willamette River, the Broadway Bridge.
Heart 7 Comment 0
The Morrison Bridge.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Something new on the waterfront: Luna, the illuminated orca on loan from Vancouver BC. He (it’s definitely a he because it’s named after a real orca) is down for the month to participate in the Portland Winter Light Festival.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraThanks for this! I was wondering where the Orca went on my ride around Stanley Park the other day. The Orca was missing, leaving only the empty cylindrical pedestal that it once sat on behind. Mystery solved!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Back at a familiar post.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It’s not all about the bike

There will definitely be some real cycling to report out before long, but these first few days have been chopped up by social visits, errands and appointments.  Monday I ran errands and met with Elizabeth while Rachael repeats her ride to Oregon City, her last ride before surgery; Tuesday morning I went to a long overdue coffee with Bruce, retrieved the town bikes from storage, and took Rachael to her nasal surgery appointment.  And today is chopped up by a mid-day dental appointment.  Not surprising; there’s always a lot to catch up on when we return to town.  The bike can wait a bit longer.

The main thing though is Rachael - how did her nasal surgery go, and what’s up with her feet?

I don’t think I’ve described before just what Rachael’s surgery is/was,  but it’s turbinate reduction, a fairly modest outpatient procedure to widen the nasal passages by reducing the turbinates - the small structures inside the nose that cleanse and humidify air that passes through the nostrils into the lungs.  The link gives a good description of the procedure, but I like to think of it as calling Roto Rooter for a nose job.

The procedure went as expected.  She was in for about an hour, had relaxed in advance with an antianxiety pill and came armed with a cellphone filled with relaxing music by John Fahey.  She came out happy to report that it was less painful and difficult than she had feared it might be.  Much better from the sounds of it than the experience of the delightful three year old child we shared the waiting room with who was in with his mother for a tonsillectomy.  We could hear him wailing from the operating room while we sat and waited for Rachael’s turn.

Rachael came out looking just a bit alarming, with a wad of gauze covering her nose held on by a strap.  Its purpose though is just to manage the  modest bleeding and drainage that is the normal after-effect.  She’s doing fine, and two days later the pain and intermittent bleeding have largely subsided and she’s down to living with the discomfort of living with this sling on her nose, not being able to sleep as comfortably as normal, and forcing herself to keep off her feet for a few more days.  She has splints (short tubes) in each nostril that will be removed at her follow up next week.

Here’s how she looked on the evening after surgery. She still looks like this, but is smiling more now.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Graham FinchHopefully she's feeling OK and the surgery has been a success.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

And then there are her feet.  Her bruised heel has run its course, but her painful toes are still an issue.  She had an appointment for that yesterday and received a diagnosis.  She has Reynaud’s Disease (or condition or syndrome), a condition probably many of you are familiar with.  It’s a condition that can cause the fingers and toes to feel cold and numb in response to cold conditions or stress.  She’s been prescribed for a medication that may or may not help, but mostly it sounds like a condition she’ll just have to learn to manage and live with - by wearing warmer socks, for example.  Just one more reason to favor places like Tucson in the winter.


Today's ride: 2 miles (3 km)
Total: 2,271 miles (3,655 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Suzanne GibsonEverything is sounding good. Glad Rachael's recovery is going well. I know Reynaud's syndrom, mostly my fingers, but it has disappeared with age! What do you know, some things get better.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauAn interesting post because The Feeshko has Reynaud's Syndrome and, last August, her sister underwent what sounds like the same nasal surgery Rocky had. I don't know if it's common, but my sister-in-law got two post-operative black eyes and she still had them for her daughter's wedding a couple weeks later.

Best wishes, Rocky, for a quick recovery.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Gregory GarceauI have a story to add to my previous comment. While The Feeshko and I were in Spokane for that wedding, I drove her sister to pick up a few things for the big event a couple of times. I had the worst feeling that people were thinking I was her husband, and I was the one who caused those black eyes. Sometimes I'm paranoid like that.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezI'm happy to hear Rachael has her long awaited surgery out of the way. The fun will soon begin!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetI'm surprised Rachael didn't know she had Reynaud's until now. I've know about mine since I was a child, crying because I couldn't get my skis off (remember those wrap-around-and-buckle "safety straps") to go into the lodge because my hands were frozen. I didn't know what it was then, of course. I still have frozen hands during winter sports (while the rest of my body is sweating), white numb fingers driving in the winter, and sometimes frozen feet.

My hands and feet can sweat while feeling cold so, for cycling, having a fresh dry pair of gloves to switch to during the day can help. Keeping my wrists warm is good too. For feet, wool socks only and neoprene toe warmers (worn over cycling shoes) are helpful when it's cold.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensGood to hear the surgery went well.
Racpat
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetI knew I had Reynauds syndrome in my hands and am careful about having gloves with me at all times. I also know I get cold feet and am careful about wearing warm socks. What’s been an issue the past few months is my toes are getting blistered and are painful and when I went to the doctor she diagnosed Reynauds.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetInteresting! I get blisters quite easily, which is one reason I prefer biking to hiking, as I’ve never had blisters from cycling. I always thought they were caused my footwear (I have wide forefeet and narrow heels, an unfortunate combination).
Reply to this comment
2 years ago