Registration woes - Winterlude 2020 - CycleBlaze

April 2, 2021

Registration woes

Yes, we’re home now; and it’s time to wrap up this journal.  Still, there are a few things to add before we close the cover.  For one thing, we definitely don’t want to forget the great fun that was had in getting the Raven registered and licensed in Oregon.   The saga isn’t finished yet by a long shot, but here’s the progress that was made today.

We bought the Raven on February 5th, and were issued a 90 day temporary license to carry us over until we returned home and could license it in our home state.  It’s been almost two months now, so the clock is ticking.  Getting the car licensed is at the top of our task list here now that we’ve arrived.

I went to DMV this morning to see about getting the car registered.  I got nowhere with this though, because they won’t even open their door unless you have an appointment, which I have not got.  

So I went home and accessed their website to see what to do, and learned that you can make an in-person appointment for what I’m trying to do (register a vehicle transferring in from another state), but no appointments are currently available at the Portland office.  Or at any other DMV office within about 200 miles.  The earliest available appointment n the entire state is 300 miles back in Baker City, on April 15th; and the next soonest one is in May, also off in the nether lands of the state.

So I tried calling up DMV to find out what to do. I   The automated message system informed me that no one would be available to take my call any time soon, so goodbye.  

So I went back to the website to see if I could submit an inquiry.  Yes, I could - but they’re so backlogged because of Covid that I should not expect a response for at least 20 business days.  Three weeks before I can even get information on how to proceed!  Not great, since our temporary license expires in only a month.

So I tried the phone again, and somehow got through this time.  I was put in the queue for the next available operator, and told it would be 45 minutes or so until someone was free to speak with me.  Which proved accurate.  Finally I got through to an actual person though, and with good results.  The representative was very helpful and patient, was surprised by but eventually understood our situation, and gave instructions on how to proceed.  To do anything, we have to have the title to the car.  Period.

We don’t have the title.  The dealership in Tucson didn’t give us one when we bought it, and they still haven’t sent one.  I don’t remember what we were told at the time, but I thought they said that it would be sent to Oregon; but it hasn’t arrived in the mail, and the DMV agent said they haven’t received it.  We’re dead in the water until we get the title.

So I called the dealership down in Tucson.  The office manager Roxanne was very helpful, understood the situation, and agreed that they hadn’t  send me a title; and there are no plans to do so because Arizona stopped distributing titles just last April.  If you really need a title, such as to reregister in a different state, you have to specifically request one.  The dealership neglected to tell us that at the time, so we didn’t request one.

So they’re ordering a title for us, and it will be sent to our address here in Portland.  It won’t come any time soon though because Arizona is as backlogged as Oregon is because of Covid.  Maybe 2-3 weeks.  Once we finally get the title later this month we can start the process of getting the car registered and getting plates and tags.  

That will take a few weeks too, according to the Oregon DMV rep.  We have to take the car and title to a DEQ station for a VIN inspection and emissions test, and then take a pile of paperwork and a check to the DMV office in either Lake Oswego, Sherwood or Hillsboro, where I was advised they would accept the paperwork and begin the process of registering the car and issuing plates and tags.  That too will take several weeks; so with luck we’ll be registered and licensed by the end of May when we leave town, but not before our temporary license expires.  We’ll just hope we’re lucky and can explain our way out of a jam if we get pulled over in the mean time.

High maintenance, but worth it.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Bruce LellmanI bought a car with out-of-state plates/registration at the end of October. I sent in all the paperwork thinking I had done it right. Fifteen weeks later!! I got it all returned to me with a note that I had to take my new car to the DMV to have the VIN inspection. That was three weeks ago. Since then I have been trying to get an appointment for the VIN inspection because the DEQ won't do it because the car is electric. I don't know how that makes sense at all but here it is April and I figure I'm still three months away from getting new plates. I once stood in line at a bank in India for an entire day simply cashing a traveler's check. I thought that was inefficient but apparently that was nothing.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanWell, now that is a good follow-up. I did notice that the DMV site advises you to send in the paperwork but don’t even bother contacting them again unless it’s been 17 weeks because they’re so backed up on paperwork. I thought I really needed to talk to a person first before going that route.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kelly IniguezI saw a pick up truck here in town a few days ago with a hand printed paper taped in the back window next to the expired paper tags that said "Waiting on the DMV" in giant black letters. I'm sure the local constables are well aware of the issue . . .

We've purchased a new car since COVID. In state, small town. It took a phone call and a few photos emailed back and forth. In a couple of days the new plates arrived in the mail. We recently sold our old Audi to a former employee. She was happy because our local DMV has just opened up for in person appointments. There was no mention of long wait times . . . .

My sympathies . . .
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
marilyn swettScott - We've recently had to go through the licensing of both a trailer (September) and a new truck this last month. At least we had purchased the vehicles in-state and didn't have to go through your issues. Plus our DMV in CO had opened back up for appointments for plates. We did have to get an extension for our temp plates on the trailer through the dealer we bought it from. You might request that from the AZ dealer as it buys you time. We had no problems getting plates on the truck before the temp plates expired. I know this is frustrating - I regularly see temp plates from last summer around Denver. Hope it can be resolved before you leave on your next trip.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo marilyn swettThanks for the suggestion about getting an extension on the temp plates, Marilyn. It’s an idea that hadn’t occurred to me. I’ll call up the dealership to ask about it.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Andrea BrownWelcome to Oregon. You will not get pulled over for expired/no plates or your expired temporary registration. You could be spinning brodies, roaling coal and brandishing a gun in the middle of Division Street and you will not get pulled over. Ask me how I know this.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Scott AndersonIf I could get my VIN inspection done at the DEQ I'd be well on my way to ending this debacle but the DEQ can't do VIN inspections on cars that are electric! The logic in this escapes me.

I sure wouldn't worry too much about any of this if I were you, Scott. If you don't get it registered and with new plates before you leave it will be no big deal. It seems the police have disappeared from Portland. The plates on my new car expired in Jan. '19! I bet I won't get pulled over for such a trifle.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rachael AndersonTo Andrea BrownGood to know, but I’ll bite. How do you know this?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Andrea BrownTo Rachael AndersonBecause street racers have taken over Portland streets as you will soon hear. One of them fatally shot another at 50th and Division and nobody has been charged but that intersection is now a memorial spot to do all the above activities.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago