I'm Not Waiting Any More - Wine And Beaches - CycleBlaze

I'm Not Waiting Any More

Setting The Scene

Going on little rides while I'm waiting is all very well, but it's time to put the tent on my not-quite-new-any-more bike and go for a 'proper' ride, albeit not very fast and not very far.  

Adelaide and South Australia are known for art, festivals (the Adelaide Fringe is the largest Fringe Festival in the world) and wineries.  Now art, festivals, and wineries are all very well and good but Adelaide and South Australia have some other well-kept secrets, like beaches and places to ride a bicycle.

Adelaide's beaches,  facing into the Gulf St Vincent,  are flat and wide and white with jetties every couple of kilometres and plenty of space for everyone to chill, dig for cockles, or compete with the seals for crabs and fish.  Along the front of these beautiful beaches runs a shared path, and one day I took to the trusty Ride With GPS route planner to check just how far I could ride on the shared paths in Adelaide.

Quite far, as it turned out.

It was entirely possible to ride from the Barossa wine region in the north to the McLaren Vale wine region in the south, joining them up with the Stuart O'Grady Bikeway and the shared path along Adelaide's beachfront. 

While I was planning I went to some Fringe events. Because I'm a cultured cyclist.
Heart 3 Comment 0

This would be a civilised bicycle tour: most of it on bikeways and shared paths, never more than a couple of km from a grocery store/coffee shop; staying in caravan parks where the availability of a camp kitchen made carrying cooking gear redundant.

Not my usual tour, in other words, but change is as good as a holiday so why not combine the two?  And is there anywhere more convival to ride a bicycle, than through a vineyard or beside the beach?

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0