Reversing the route - heading home - The weekend FINALLY had 2 non-rainy days - CycleBlaze

March 24, 2019

Reversing the route - heading home

Since I'm in a motel this morning, and the breakfast is free, I'm going to take every advantage of that. Served 6am-10am every day (including Sunday) I'm at the breakfast bar 6:20 and ready to indulge. 

I spy the automatic pancake machine - game on! The machine quickly begins churning and the LCD display shows two pancakes on the conveyor moving through the process. I'm giddy with excitement and rather than just stand there and watch the LCD "blips" move across the screen, I collect my toppings. I gather multi-fruit jelly spread and one of the paper plates. In a little less than 60 seconds, the first pancake rolls off the conveyor and deposits itself on the plate. Then, 10 seconds later, the other pancake does the same. I sit with my breakfast, spread the topping, and cut into the pancake. The consistency of the "food" is a little like spackling paste, and they tear apart as the glutinous disc remains stuck to the plate. I use the plastic knife to scrape it off the plate and create some semblance of a doughy mass on my fork. I don't fare too much better with the taste - it's a jelly-flavored paper towel in my opinion. One bite and the rest goes into the trash. I hate wasting food but after tasting it, I didn't consider it food. 

Surprisingly, the coffee was really good. And from a machine, too.

Sunup was 7:25am, and by 7:10 I had my lights on and I was on my way - it was bright enough to go. Traffic was light, and since today was a reversal of yesterday's route, I was basically riding home seeing everything I saw yesterday.

Sunday morning lack of traffic didn't disappoint - very few vehicles on the road

Traffic was light Sunday morning, and I'm in the middle of the road shooting this picture as the sun is still coming over the horizon
Heart 0 Comment 0

Happy to get home by 10:30am and 38 miles complete. I realize I really needed this weekend to get my sense of adventure back. The weather has really been terrible and this was a chance to really enjoy the weekend.

Except for those God-awful pancakes.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 78 miles (126 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonGreat writeup on the pancakes, Paul! Thanks for trying them out and reporting back, so we don’t have to.

Btw, the only other Mulvey I’ve ever heard of is Peter, one of our favorite musicians - we just saw him in concert here last month. I wondered if you might be related so I browsed on your name and came up with 25 Paul Mulveys. Common as weeds.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Paul MulveyTo Scott Anderson@Scott - thanks for reaching out! Yeah, when faced with the choice of receiving 1 or 2 automatic pancakes, choose the bagel.
Searching Paul Mulvey on google you'll come up with the hockey player, the professor at North Carolina, and the Business Analyst/Conference speaker, and author. I'm the third one :-D
Reply to this comment
5 years ago