Day 19: To Tete Jaune Cache - Western Canada 2007 - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2007

Day 19: To Tete Jaune Cache

I slept until 9 and got away from the hotel at 10:15. But I didn't get on the road until 10:45 after stopping at the visitor center and buying groceries. Today is a short easy day compared to yesterday. The towns are spaced such that I often have to choose between either a short day or a very long day.

The weather was overcast, humid, and buggy with the usual gentle tailwind. I'm getting a lot of bites on my butt while pedaling the bike.

Heart 0 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltOh yea, mosquito bites on the butt - - I had that happened when I was trying to take down my tent when camping in FL. They were nasty biting mosquitoes!
Reply to this comment
4 days ago
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltGreat picture of the snow-capped mountains and pink flowers in the foreground!
Reply to this comment
4 days ago

After only 16 km I stopped at an extremely buggy golf course/cafe for lunch. I was slow enough to be mosquito bait on the steepest climbs but most of the day was relatively flat where I could outpace the mosquitoes. I found that it's much better to stop adjacent to a pasture rather than a forested area. The forested areas are much buggier.

I think this is the Rocky mountains now.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltYea, mosquitoes are bad in the forests. I tried going for a hike in MN woods once, and only got about 20 feet before I was engulfed in the buggers. Gave up!
Reply to this comment
4 days ago

I followed the Fraser river all day but didn't see the river often and only crossed it twice.

Fraser river, Rocky mountains.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I'm glad to be getting closer to the Rocky mountains but I'm not enjoying having swarms of mosquitoes all the time. It's NOT my idea of a fun bike tour. I stopped at the only settlement along today's route, at the Tete Jaune Cache lodge. They had a nice little bakery at the lodge but I was glad I stocked up on groceries in the morning. I arrived at 4:30 with lots of daylight to spare. I'm not accustomed to having this much spare time in the evening.

Resort living on the Fraser river.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The lodge is on the bank of the Fraser river in a beautiful setting with views of big mountains. The room was $79 plus tax. Not too bad for a resort. The room had a TV that gets two channels. There was a couple hours of sunshine after I arrived, followed by a significant thunderstorm. At least I had a spacious room to spread out in. As usual I hand-washed clothes, took a shower, and cooked dinner outside.

Fraser river at Te Jaune Cache resort, just before a storm.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I suspect the patio gets flooded now and then.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from inside my cabin.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today I saw two westbound bike tourists but I didn't talk to them. It was a short easy day due to the tailwind, minimal climbing, and short distance. I'm sick and tired of the mosquitoes, though. I surely have more than a hundred mosquito bites.

Distance: 68.8 km / 43 mi

Climbing: 361 m / 1190 ft

Average speed: 15.4 km/h / 9.6 mph

Maximum speed: 61 km/h / 38.1 mph

Today's ride: 69 km (43 miles)
Total: 1,604 km (996 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWow, you had over 100 mosquito bites! Ack!!!!
Reply to this comment
4 days ago