Day 79: Omak, WA to Chelan, WA - Seeking a Bicycle Warrior's Death, Part I: The Northern Tier - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2021

Day 79: Omak, WA to Chelan, WA

Off Route, Fire On The Mountain

Heart 0 Comment 0

Climbing Today; 1,956 ft                                     Climbing to Date; 127,500 ft

I found a penny in the parking lot as I left Safeway last night with my supper and breakfast and some ride provisions.  That brings the "found money" total to $3.17 now.

Yesterday I finished 14 days of antibiotics taken to control the infection that developed in my 5th wisdom tooth.  Antibiotics kill off the good bacteria in your stomach, and they had done a number on me.  I hadn't been "regular" for several days; I hadn't done what bears do in the woods.  So I thought maybe I might need a laxative. BIG mistake.  I only took 2 of those tiny dulco-lax pills, but they unleashed a nuclear war in my tummy that left me drained when the alarm went off at 03:30.  I was sleepy, a bit dehydrated, and yet I needed to get up and get going to get in the 55-ish mile day before the sun became unbearable.  Steve, riding a day ahead of me, had warned me that there was a steep climb at the end of today's ride and that I didn't want to get caught out in the heat doing that climb.  Gee whiz; not a good time to wake up wasted away, but it was what it was.  I had to force myself to eat a little bit of instant oatmeal; there was no way I could possibly do this ride without nourishment.  And so, it took me a bit longer than normal to get my act together and get rolling, but I finally headed out with enough toilet paper for a few emergency stops -  fortunately I did not need it.

Do Tell
Heart 2 Comment 1
Steve HenryBud, you had such a tough night. I hope things are better for you tomorrow! I’m sure they will be. Water is healing. Sorry you had to reroute due to the fires. Anyway, tomorrow is another day as they say. One week to go….you’re on the home stretch.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Yeah, That's The Problem
Heart 2 Comment 2
Wayne EstesI passed that sign 2 days before you, but wasn't planning to go on WA 20. I was going south, not west. I had sun at Lake Chelan but terrible smoke earlier in the day at Pateros.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
George HallTo Wayne EstesWayne,

Yeah, the smoke was a little unpredictable around Omak. I wanted to go further west and ride over Loup Loup Pass, but it looked like the smoke was much worse in the next valley over. It's a small world; we were within 2 days of meeting up. Best of luck,

Buddy Hall
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Some road signs just kill me - maybe I have a sick sense of humor.

A Warning Sign That Says There Are No Warning Signs?!
Heart 5 Comment 0

The Columbia River valley supports a lot of agriculture, and many of the residences I passed had abandoned vehicles in the yards.  Looks like there would be a need for the scrap metal and someone would haul them off for free.

Abandoned Cars Makes Me Feel Like I'm Back In Arkansas or Oklahoma
Heart 3 Comment 0

Sorry, not much in the wildlife category today.  I'm off of the backroads that the ACA map would have taken me on, probably won't see much wildlife from this point till the end.

These Geese Swimming On The Columbia River Remind Me Of Scenes From My Early Morning Bike Rides Along The Rhine River
Heart 3 Comment 0
Doing Their Bird Thing
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Columbia River
Heart 6 Comment 0
It Would Be A Nice View If Not For The Smoke
Heart 3 Comment 0

Wells Dam is a hydrocombine, the only one in the U.S.  See Wells Dam for more info.

Wells Dam, A Hydrocombine
Heart 2 Comment 0
A Hang Glider Cavorts In The Breeze Below Me
Heart 5 Comment 0

I got better as I rolled along, and stopped in Brewster for a breakfast sandwich and coffee at a McDonald's.  The inside dining was closed, so I sat outside on the sidewalk and very slowly nibbled at it.  That gave me some energy and I rolled on.  I made good time and hit the long climb into Chelan before noon.  It was slow and I found myself panting in the heat and stopping every mile or so for a water break.  The Apple Inn is a nice place with very nice rooms, so I'm good for the night.   I need to look ahead at tomorrow's ride now, I'm on a 1-day-at-a-time now until I finish.

Doc Update.  Doc is done!  He rode the shoulder of I-90 into Seattle, then used Google bike routing to navigate the extensive bike trails to Puget Sound to end a "coast-to-coast" ride.  His bike is now in the hands of a bike shop that he says is a little more ghetto than he would like, and he flies home tomorrow. 

Doc Made It! (photo credit; some unknown person)
Heart 9 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezPlease pass congratulations on to Doc! You are next!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
George HallTo Kelly IniguezThanks Kelly, I will do that!

Bud
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I have a flight home that was purchased prior to starting this journey.  With the Canadian border shut down preventing us from taking the routes into Canada that we wanted, my wisdom tooth infection causing delay, and now the forest fire rerouting, it's amazing that I will be finishing anywhere near the original planned date.  But I will, and I will be flying home 1 week later than Doc; at least, that's the plan for now.  We all know that plans can and do change.  In the meantime, it's 1 day at a time for me as I move on. 

Lots to do to prepare for tomorrow.  One thing I won't do is take a dulco-lax tonight.  Good night all, I hope you are all keeping "regular" in your daily lives...

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 4,023 miles (6,474 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachel and Patrick HugensCongratulations George, almost there! Which organization did Doc use to arrange the bike shop bike shipping?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
George HallTo Rachel and Patrick HugensUnknown- he left it a bike shop for them to pack and ship - there’s now a couple of competing bike shipping companies, so whoever that bike shop uses.

Bud
Reply to this comment
2 years ago