Day 43: Dalbo, MN to Bowlus, MN - Seeking a Bicycle Warrior's Death, Part I: The Northern Tier - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2021

Day 43: Dalbo, MN to Bowlus, MN

West of the Mississippi Again

Heart 0 Comment 0

Climbing Today; 778  ft                           Climbing to Date;  68,804 ft

I’m doing some of the journal today using voice dictation while I’m riding on the bike. We’ll see how that works.

Our Retreat Last Night
Heart 3 Comment 0
Preparing to Leave - This Was A Great Place to Stay
Heart 2 Comment 0

We signed the journal this morning at the  bunkhouse in Dalbo, and wrote about how much we appreciated having a place to stay. I was a few miles down the road and Doc had stayed behind to finish up some things, when I panicked because I realized I hadn’t left a donation. I called Doc and asked him to leave one for me and he told me he already had it covered. He had left a very generous donation which exceeded what I was going to leave, so I felt good about that.

Wildlife and Wetlands
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltTrumpeter swans and a cute little one too!

https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/rsg/profile.html?action=elementDetail&selectedElement=ABNJB02030#:~:text=Minnesota's%20swan%20reintroduction%20efforts%20began,nest%20throughout%20much%20of%20Minnesota.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

We had to roll about 16 miles down the road to get to a town that had some convenience stores for Doc to get his breakfast. I had taken advantage of the bunkhouse cooking facilities and made myself a couple of eggs and toast and had some juice for breakfast, so I was pretty good.

Minnesota Lake In The Early Morn
Heart 4 Comment 0

As I’m dictating this, we are between Milaca and Ramey now. County Road 14 had  barricades up and said "closed to through traffic" but we needed to go that way, so we took a chance and fortunately we got through the construction just fine.

This Guy Thought He Was Invisible If He Held Still
Heart 5 Comment 0

We are planning to camp tonight in Bowlus at the city park, which is adjacent to the trail system that we will be riding on for several days. Our camping location is next to a restaurant that has good pies, and the owner of the restaurant is actually the person who arranges for you to camp and keep the restroom facilities open.

Aspen
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltBirch has papery shedding bark. Aspen does not. Should be fairly easy to tell.

https://www.hunker.com/13424364/difference-between-birch-trees-and-aspen-trees
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
George HallBill,

Thanks again - I’m learning a lot on this trip.

Bud
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Blinders - Why?
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltScreens against flies.

https://horseandrider.com/gear/fly-masks-dos-donts
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
George HallTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,

Thanks for that - I had no idea.

Bud
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Today's Old Barn Pic
Heart 4 Comment 0
Can You See The Fawn In The Brush?
Heart 3 Comment 2
Steve HenryShe is sooo precious…..I hope you all ride past Mt. Rushmore…..is that on the trail? Take care and have some great pie with vanilla ice cream…..blueberry pie maybe? So glad you got to hook up with Keith and Carol last night.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
George HallTo Steve HenrySteve,

Unfortunately we don’t go past Mt Rushmore- not on this trip anyway. Maybe next trip! I’m taking your suggestion about pie - I think I may gain weight on this trip.

Bud
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
I Grew Up In Little Rock - This Ain't It
Heart 2 Comment 0
Minnesota Is Experiencing A Drought - The Corn Must Be Watered
Heart 1 Comment 0

Update; we arrived and set up camp in the city park.  It's all good, but no showers.  But there is a sink in the bathroom, and no one is using the community center bathrooms except us, so - I feel a sponge bath is about to happen.  Just had a reuben sandwich and soup, all is well. 

Camping In The City Park
Heart 4 Comment 0

We are moving 1 day at a time, and constantly changing plans as we go now - we are probably due for a day off soon so we can plan for the rest of the journey.  It takes a lot of time trying to figure out each day's jump, whether we are inside or camping, are we on schedule, etc.  We may be in a hotel tomorrow night - maybe. Good night folks...

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 2,249 miles (3,619 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0