Day 99: Mount Surprise to Georgetown - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 20, 2021

Day 99: Mount Surprise to Georgetown

Start: 7:05am
Distance: 98kms
Ride time: 5:14hrs
Average: 19km/hr
Max: 56km/hr 
Finish: 1:50pm

Morning pic.
Heart 1 Comment 0

There were lots of red tailed black cockatoos and parrots in the trees by the road this morning.

After about 20kms, I saw a dingo 50 metres from the road. He was watching me and as I got closer he sprinted into the scrub.

Junction Creek.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Some type of eagle.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like you might have gotten your wedge-tailed eagle picture... but not quite enough detail to be positive.

https://www.wildlifetourism.org.au/wildlife/birds-of-australia/diurnal-raptors-of-australia-eagles-falcons-etc/
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Bill,

Thank you for the link.

I definitely got a wedgy today. Not a great pic, but I was able to positively ID it while it was flying.

I really like the nature element of this ride. That probably has the highest interest for me. It makes it more enjoying for me rather.

Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I'm still yet to get a pic of a wedged-tailed eagle. 

My road became single lane.
Heart 8 Comment 0

The road kept changing between 2 lanes and 1 lane.

I would always get off the road when a car or truck was coming. I didn't see any road trains today. 

Crossing the Einasleigh River. Both this pic and the next one are taken looking upstream.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The river was about 200 metres wide.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I didn't see any freshies or salties.

These Brahman bulls were on the roadside, not fenced in.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaYou'll see alot of cattle on the road from now on especially in the NT.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyIt surprises me that cars go so fast and seem not to worry about the cattle.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Climbing the Newcastle Range.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Other than the small range there were a few small undulations. Mostly it was flat.

There was no wind until 11am and then I had a small tailwind. Nothing like the big tailwind I had the other day.

The view from the top of the Newcastle Range.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This is Turtle Rock.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Crossing Ethridge River in Gorgetown.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I made it!
Heart 4 Comment 0
I went to the roadhouse for some sustenance.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaThat doesn't look like enough tucker for you hahahahaha
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThat was just lunch. I had another one for dinner.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Then I checked in to the Goldfields Van Park. $20.
Heart 2 Comment 0

There was not much traffic today. Most of the traffic waved to me. I think that will continue now that I'm in a country area.

Today the elastic strap for one of my water bottles broke.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Also my gear shifter became very stiff. I'm not sure what caused it. Could be the cable housing needs to be replaced? I adjusted the cable tension and that freed it up a bit.

I wanted to take the mech apart near the hub but I don't have the correct size torx tool. I thought I had all the correct tools. A rookie mistake. I'll buy a tool when I get to a decent town.

Some apostles and a blue faced honeyeater having a drink.
Heart 5 Comment 0
And galahs too.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I feel tired after today's ride. Anything over 5 hours in the saddle is a little taxing for me. I'll have to toughen up because I'm sure there will be many big days to come in the future.

The next town west is Croydon. It's 150kms away. Unless I have a massive tailwind tomorrow, I will only go halfway and camp by a river.

There is no phone reception in between towns so I'll update the journal when I can.

Today's ride: 98 km (61 miles)
Total: 4,374 km (2,716 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Mike AylingHi Vince
If you unscrew the thumb screw and remove the EX box from the hub the shifter should move freely. If not you need to check the cables. AFAICR you need the T20 torx to get into the EX box.
Good luck!
Mike
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike AylingVince, the EX box should have grease in it.

Mike
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Mike,

Thank you for your help. I did as you said and it still didn't move as freely as I hoped so it must be the cables. There was grease and it looked fine.
Thanks
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Lyle McLeodVince,
Mike beat me to the punch on this one! On our tandem we’ve had ‘stiff shifting” a few times and it’s been the EX box being infiltrated by very fine mud/silt. A good clean out and re-grease and it’s been back to normal. This has only happened during prolonged riding in very wet weather … something it looks like you really haven’t had. Hopefully it’s not your cables as it’s a bit tricky to replace these if a shop is not familiar with Rohloff’s. Exact cable length is very important.
Lyle
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Lyle,

Thank you for all of the information.

The ex box is greased and free of dirt.

The cables had a small bend, so I straightened that too. It works okay but not normal.

Thanks
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago