Day 94: Ravenshoe to Mount Garnet - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2021

Day 94: Ravenshoe to Mount Garnet

Start: 8:15am
Distance: 49kms
Ride time: 2:59hrs
Average: 17km/hr
Max: 60km/hr 
Finish: 12:45pm

This morning's highway pic.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A few kms out of town I took a short detour down this road.
Heart 3 Comment 0
To visit Millstream Falls.
Heart 11 Comment 0

This is the bigger version of the Little Millstream Falls I visited yesterday. 

These are the widest single drop falls in Australia. 

It was nice to see lots of tiny wrens flying about. They were too quick for me to photograph. 

Crossing Wild River.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Tough cows on the Atherton Tablelands.
Heart 8 Comment 1
I started seeing lots of termite mounds.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I had to take a minute to remove lots of grass seeds from my clothing after this pic.

Today the traffic was very friendly. I probably got 20 waves. Thank you traffic.

The weather was a mild 27C. The terrain was undulating. I had a big descent leaving Ravenshoe and then an overall ascent of 250 metres. Much more agreeable than the last few days.

I arrived in Mount Garnet just after midday. It's a small town with only 2 servos.

There was a very small market on. And they spelt the town name wrong.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Maybe only 5 stalls. I saw home made jams, hippie crystals, plants and a charity BBQ.

They were packing up when I arrived. I managed to buy a couple of sausages and onions just in time.

I then went to the free camping area next to the servo. It was once a more substantial campground and now it's just a free unpowered area.

There is water, toilets and cold showers.

There are 4 camper vans set up from last night. 

I found a shady patch of grass and made camp.

Free!
Heart 8 Comment 4
Lednar De NallohA freeby..looks like the best camping deal on the continent. Well done.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Annie O'SheaThat's a great little camping stop plus good value. Cheers
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Lednar,

I hope to find many more too.👍🏻

Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Mum.
xox
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I enjoyed a refreshing cold shower and washed my clothes.

I found a power outlet in the toilets and charged my powerbank.

I spent the arvo reading and playing with my phone. I still feel a little fatigued from Gillies Range. I should have had a rest day after that. 

I'm sure I will be 100% tomorrow and will stop complaining about hills. 👍🏻

Today's ride: 49 km (30 miles)
Total: 4,146 km (2,575 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithHi Vince
From chatting at Ainslie Shops a few months ago, we have now cycle toured to almost diagonally opposite corners of Australia.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Graham,

That's pretty funny. Perhaps all bike tours that start from your own house in Canberra are bound to be adventurous.

Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago