Day 59: Waverley Creek to Clairview - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

April 14, 2021

Day 59: Waverley Creek to Clairview

Start: 9:30am
Distance: 39kms
Ride time: 2:27hrs
Average: 16km/hr
Max: 38km/hr 
Finish: 12:30pm

I slept well. The shelter lights didn't come on during the night.

I woke a few times from trucks or cars coming into the rest area. My tent was in a good location and I had shade until 8:30am, when I finally got up.

I had a short distance to cover today so there was no need to depart early.

Morning road pic.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Crossing Wran Creek.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Scenic pic. It's nice to have pretty hills to look at.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Crossing Clairview Creek.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had done about 30kms and was in need of a little rest. I saw a sign for a roadhouse in 4kms. I started planning what I would buy. A cold juice and maybe a burger.

As I approached the roadhouse, my high hopes were dashed. It was apparent it had been permanently closed for a long time. Not fair.

Anyway, not long after I arrived at the Clairview. 

There is nothing else here except the Baracrab Caravan Park. It has a small shop.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I bought a juice and a burger. It was a yummy, fresh, and non greasy burger. The best of the trip.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is a beautiful spot. The unpowered sites have the best views. $28.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyLooks like a great spot for some Rest and relaxation.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
High tide. I saw turtles coming up to the surface to breathe. Pretty exciting.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This is how I spent the afternoon.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This 40cm barramundi was in a fish tank in the bar.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The barramundi can grow to 1.8 metres. It's a popular item on restaurant and fish and chips shop menus.

His food (I think whiting) was swimming nervously in the same tank.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Edit: The next day, the 2 smaller fish were gone.

Today's ride: 39 km (24 miles)
Total: 2,815 km (1,748 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0