Day 146: Edith River to Katherine - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2021

Day 146: Edith River to Katherine

Start: 9:20am
Distance: 44kms
Ride time: 2:58hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 27km/hr 
Finish: 1:00pm
Temp: 9-30C

I was woken during the night by a train going past. At least it made me open my eyes and look out at the moon rising and the great starry sky.

Great colour in the sunrise.
Heart 10 Comment 0
Today's big road train pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Another road train passed me today and it was carrying cotton. The cotton is wrapped in big round bales like hay. The side of the bales are exposed.

This caused pieces of cotton to break free and float slowly to the ground. It was almost like it was snowing cotton. 

It made me smile.

And another time, I was pedalling steadily into the headwind and saw in my mirror a road train approaching from behind.

There was 1 road lane going in my direction and 2 lanes on the otherside of the road. They were all empty. Nevertheless I moved off the road to allow the road train to pass.

Still watching my mirror, I saw the truck move across into the 2nd and then the 3rd lane to go past me.

It might not seem like much but to me it was a considerable effort for him to do that when there wasn't any need. It was just a big truck being exceptionally kind to a cyclist.

Being out on the hwy can be a little lonely sometimes and nice gestures like this make me appreciate humans.

Some interesting granite stacks.
Heart 6 Comment 4
Lednar De NallohGranite, not sure. I think it could be Tindall Limestone looking at geological map north of Katherine. Reminds me of Geikie George near Derby which is an ancient coral reef. You're making great progress and hopefully the border should be open.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Lednar De NallohTo Lednar De NallohReading further along your journal, There is a roadhouse at Victoria River and some nice scenery along the river there. Katherine Gorge is worth going to visit and boat trip.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Lednar, thank you. I have no idea about geology. Cheers.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Lednar, thank you. I hope I will get to see Victoria River in the near future.

I will check out Katherine George in the next few days.
Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Edit: Lednar suggested this is Tyndall Limestone not granite. Thanks Lednar.

About 6kms from Katherine I jumped on the bike path again.
Heart 5 Comment 0

It was nice not to worry about people zooming past at 130km/hr.

Crossing Katherine River on the old railway bridge.
Heart 6 Comment 0
My first stop in Katherine was my favourite cafe to eat breakfast at lunchtime.
Heart 6 Comment 0

It was so good I may go back there for breakfast tomorrow. 

After breakfast lunch I went to the information centre to see if I could do a day tour or two.

I was surprised to receive the answer that no one offers day tours from Katherine. There are a couple of things to do but one has to drive to the location first.

I got some printed information on the historical sites in town and I'll check that out tomorrow or the next day.

Being a little ill and having the headwind has made for a tough week.

I will stay here for a few days to rest and decide what to do next. 

I would like to head to the WA border but I don't think there are any towns between here and the border, 500kms away. 

I don't want to be stuck out there for long in case the border doesn't open.

2 days ago I called the caravan park in Katherine which I had booked a week earlier. I asked to postpone my arrival by one day due to the headwinds. They refused my request stating they were fully booked.

I was a little frustrated and booked a motel room instead. It will be good to have my own space especially if I could be stuck here a while.

Katherine motel.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 km (27 miles)
Total: 6,956 km (4,320 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0