Day 145: Pine Creek to Edith River - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2021

Day 145: Pine Creek to Edith River

Start: 8:20am
Distance: 49kms
Ride time: 3:42hrs
Average: 13km/hr
Max: 27km/hr 
Finish: 1:20pm
Temp: 12-28C

I would pace myself better today than yesterday. I started with a balanced breakfast of ham and cheese toasties and fruit juice from the roadhouse.

Morning pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The headwind arrived not long after.

I used my lower gears today and took my time instead of trying to pedal hard into the wind. 

On one of my breaks I saw these spherical gum nuts.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The traffic was busy for a Sunday. Lots of caravans. They were very friendly today. I must have received 50 waves. Maybe they were acknowledging how hard it is for me to have the headwind.

Today's tree pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The dry Cullen River.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The Ferguson River.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The milder temperature made today's riding better than the last couple of days. 

I made some chicken soup here.
Heart 5 Comment 0

It was just a powder satchel and hot water. I wish it was real chicken soup. I've been having lots of food cravings lately. I could go and on...

I'll satisfy them when I get to Katherine. 

There was a small water tank here that was empty. 

Crossing the Edith River.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Once I crossed the river I took a very rough track on the left to find a nice shady camp spot.

Free!
Heart 6 Comment 0

Cars can't get to this spot and it's nice to have my own space again. I'm 100 metres from the hwy and 100 metres from the train tracks. Hopefully both will be quiet tonight.

Edith River is about 50cm deep and is barely flowing.

I spent 45 minutes filtering some water and then had a wash. No crocodiles were seen. 

This might be hibiscus sabdariffa.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Hibiscus sabdariffa

This rainbow bee-eater was catching lots of insects.
Heart 9 Comment 0

Rainbow bee-eater.

A burnoff in the distance.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 km (30 miles)
Total: 6,912 km (4,292 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rita McCarthyCongratulations on riding through those winds. Two things I don’t like while riding are winds and hills. So you definitely deserve a big pat on the back.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago