Day 144: Bush camp to Pine Creek - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2021

Day 144: Bush camp to Pine Creek

Start: 7:40am
Distance: 60kms
Ride time: 4:26hrs
Average: 14km/hr
Max: 27km/hr 
Finish: 1:35pm
Temp: 15-30C

There was an occasional vehicle passing during the night. I wasn't too disturbed. 

It was nice riding in the morning for an hour before the wind blew into my face again.

Riding up Corkscrew Pass.
Heart 4 Comment 0
There was still lots of cotton on the roadside.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I haven't seen any more trucks carting cotton so perhaps the harvest season has ended.

These wispy clouds helped block some of the hot sun.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I'm not coping well with the unrelenting headwinds. So tiring. I had many rest breaks today. 

Today's tiny flower.
Heart 9 Comment 0

I struggled today. I stopped 3 times in the last 10kms.

I was relieved to arrive at Pine Creek. The park was busy.

I quickly put up my tent in the last remaining shaded spot.
Heart 6 Comment 0
And then ordered a big yummy lunch.
Heart 6 Comment 0
There was a local bike parked at the pub.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I'm sure this bike belonged to an old guy that was sitting at a table smoking and drinking, with a pet python slithering about his arms.

He already had some people bothering him so I didn't want to disturb him further by asking for a pic.

There were several snake vivariums at the pub. One of the snakes was a woma python. I think this is the same species that I saw on Day 111 and wrongly stated it was a tiger snake.

A concern I have is my impending entry to Western Australia. It's about a week's ride away. The border is currently closed and I don't know when it will open.

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 6,863 km (4,262 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rodney PrestonGood luck buddy!
I hope the border is open when you get there! 👍😎
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rita McCarthyYou have eagle eyes spotting those orchids. Not always easy to find. I’ll pray that the borders will be open for you. Best wishes.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you😘
Reply to this comment
2 years ago