Day 139: Rest day - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2021

Day 139: Rest day

Today was a lazy day. I spent most of it in the hotel room.

I have been a little unwell for a couple days. I have a bad cough which has been keeping me (and Serena) up at night.

Don't panic everyone, it's not COVID-19!

I will have an online session with my doctor tomorrow morning to confirm I don't have any dangerous cooties.

Today I went to the chemist and bought some over the counter stuff.

I'm not sure of the efficacy of these products. At least the placebo will work on me.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Mike AylingThe Difflam works for my sore throats!

Mike
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyI had never used it before yesterday. It's been working very well.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Serena did her COVID-19 allocated exercise hour in the nearby botanical gardens. 

Serena monitored the NT and ACT government websites. The NT extended the Darwin lockdown by another 3 days.

Currently Serena is still allowed to return home. She will have to do a short quarantine when she gets home.

And I am allowed to continue my ride.

In brief, Northern Territorians in Darwin must stay in lockdown but because we don't live here, we are free to leave.

I planned out the next couple weeks of my ride. This is the first time I've done this. Usually I only plan 1 week in advance.

In two weeks I hope to cross the Northern Territory border with Western Australia!

Restaurants are still doing take away. I rode my bike into the city to get some Indian.

I saw this massive artwork on the side of a government building.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Dinner was outstanding.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Mike AylingYou can't go past a good butter chicken!

Mike
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I recommend the Darwin Tandoor restaurant. 

If we weren't in lockdown today, we had planned to go on a crocodile tour. Oh well, perhaps another time. 🐊

Today's ride: 5 km (3 miles)
Total: 6,627 km (4,115 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0