Day 137: Rest day - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2021

Day 137: Rest day

Serena's plane was late last night. She got to the hotel about midnight. 

It was great to see her.

She has always been very supportive of my trip. I'm grateful she flies to visit me occasionally. I'm a lucky one.

The repair job I did to one of my sandals had started to fall apart. I was glad Serena brought me a new pair.

Old and new.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Rodney PrestonWoah! I bet they were also smelling great! 😂
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyI've definitely become immune to my own stench on this ride.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
We went out for a lovely breakfast.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Afterwards I changed the oil in the Rohloff hub on my bike. This will get me through to Perth.

Then we jumped on some electric scooters to visit the museum.

Serena being cautious of her speed.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Chris DAVIDSONAn old school helmet too!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rodney PrestonLookin’ Cool! 😎
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Me loving not having to pedal.
Heart 8 Comment 3
Kerrie McCarthyNeither of you wearing the helmets 🤣
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rodney PrestonThat looks fun and relaxing at the same time!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyYes we were being naughty not wearing helmets. I wasn't keen to wear a communal helmet and we went going fast.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Note the normal clothes I'm wearing. It's great to wear clothes that aren't stained with sunscreen and road grime.

The scooters were fun and easy to use. Unfortunately I couldn't get it to go faster than 15km/hr. 

They cost 45 cents/minute each. Cheap and convenient for short distances. 

This is a bird sculpture from wood. Unknown artist. 1960's.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The museum had a great natural history section too. Lots of accurately taxidermy birds.

We had a lovely lunch in their cafe.

Then we walked along the esplanade to the Mindel Beach Sunset Markets. These are usually held only on Thursdays and Sundays. 

Today is Saturday and was a special Indian themed occasion. The stalls were just setting up. All the food and spices smelt fantastic. 

We had mango ice cream for afternoon tea. 

Then we found a couple more scooters and went back along the coast to the Darwin Sailing Club.

It was hot so we quenched our thirst.

Heart 8 Comment 2
Veronica JoinerBeautiful photo. Great to see your smiling face Serena
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Annie O'SheaLooking good Serena, lovely to see you again
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 8 Comment 0
It was a great spot to watch the sunset.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0