Day 135: Rest day - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2021

Day 135: Rest day

I slept until 7:30am, my longest sleep in for ages.

I enjoyed a healthy breakfast with lots of green stuff.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I felt like a normal person being able to eat breaky in a cafe and take my time. Not having to rush off and get some kms done.

I did go for a little ride to the suburb Coconut Grove to visit a bike shop. I needed a new quadlock to secure my phone to my handle bars.

This allows me to use the phone easily while riding. Using google maps or listening to tunes etc.

This is one of the nice bike paths I used.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I used it for several kms and google maps didn't know it existed.

This picture is very clear and well focused thanks to my new phone. A simple photo like this took a lot of effort with my old phone and was always slightly distorted.

I'm very pleased with the new phone.

On the way home I visited the botanical gardens. 

Perrier's boabab from Madagascar.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Perrier's boabab.

A euphorbia Apache from Madagascar.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A crocodile eating a barramundi.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A cool mosaic dragon.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I jinxed myself yesterday by buying lots of camping food. Today, Serena's food parcel finally arrived.

I collected it from the post office and was transferring it to my panniers in the street when a gentleman spoke to me.

He owns the National Flags shop around the corner. Without asking me the usual questions he said it was great what I was doing. He generously offered for me to go to his shop and I could pick out any flag I wanted for free to put it on the back of my bike.

So kind. I respectfully declined as I have enough stuff already on my bike.

Before I started this ride I considered putting flags on my bike. I would have liked to have the Australian and Aboriginal flags. And then I couldn't leave out the Torres Strait Islander flag either. There are other flags I would have liked as well. Too many for one bike.

From the post office I went to the supermarket to buy some milk and fresh fruit.

While there another stranger approached me. He asked me where I was from and which way I was headed. Would I go to Margaret River. 

I would. It is in south west WA and is known for fine wine and food.

He gave me his number and said I was welcome to stay at his farm. He has some self contained accommodation which he lets travellers use for a donation if they share their stories.

These gestures are inspiring. They know nothing of me except that I'm travelling around on a bike.

It gives me hope for humanity. 

Today's ride: 25 km (16 miles)
Total: 6,622 km (4,112 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0