Day 133: Noonamah to Darwin - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2021

Day 133: Noonamah to Darwin

Start: 7:10am
Distance: 52kms
Ride time: 2:55hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 47km/hr 
Finish: 11:35am
Temp: 23-30C

It was a very foggy morning.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I cycled for about 20kms and went to a hardware store to buy more cables ties and duct tape. Somewhere between Cairns and here I had lost my tape. I wasn't going back to find it.

Soon after I heard an unwelcome noise on every rotation of the rear wheel.

There was a piece of roadside debris stuck firmly in the tyre.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I used my mini pliers to remove it.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The tyre went flat instantly. I can't complain. It's my first flat of the trip. 

I replaced it with some difficulty. My flag prohibits me from turning my bike upside-down which is the simple way to fix it.

Instead I had to do it with the bike lying on its side, resting on the panniers. I was in a shady spot so I took my time.

I kept riding and without realising it I took an exit from the Stuart Hwy and on to the Tiger Brennan Dr.

It had a lovely wide shoulder.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Shortly after I passed two signs stating bicycles were prohibited from being on the road. There was no feasible alternative so I disobeyed the signs and kept riding.

After 1km, bikes were allowed to be on the road again. Silly signs.

I was excited to see my first view of Darwin.
Heart 8 Comment 0

I was riding with a big smile and I'm sure I looked a little mad.

Finally a dedicated bike path appeared.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I followed this into the city. My first stop was to a phone repair shop. The staff member didn't have the required knowledge of my phone and suggested I return shortly when the owner would be able to help me.

I was a little anxious that maybe they wouldn't be able to fix my phone.

I went to a cafe and enjoyed a fruit salad and a coffee.

When I returned to the shop the owner was confident he could fix my phone by replacing the charging port (it was first replaced in Cairns) and replacing a camera lens.

He didn't have the parts in stock and said they will arrive tomorrow. I'll await their call tomorrow. 

There was a food produce stall nearby and I bought some fresh diced pineapple. I ate this and then got a milkshake from another cafe. I was satiated. 

I rode along an esplanade. 

The water was a lovely blue.
Heart 7 Comment 0

In the park were many decorated tiles.

Vincent Lingiari was far more than a stockman.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I don't know how to summarise the impact he had on Australia so please read his wiki page.

This iconic photo was taken by Mervyn Bishop in 1975.
Heart 6 Comment 0

The then Prime Minister of Australia pours soil into the hand of Vincent Lingiari.

It was a good day for Australia. 

I collected the replacement tyres Serena had mailed to the Darwin post office. 

Unfortunately my food supply she mailed at the same time hasn't arrived yet nor the water bladders and pillow. Hopefully they will turn up soon.

I checked in to our hotel which is 1km from the city centre.

I took the flag off my bike and inverted it to make changing tyres easier.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Old and new.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The tyres have done about 10,000kms. They could probably do another 1,000kms, even so I'm happy to replace them now I have the opportunity. 

Schwalbe tyres are known for being hard to install because they are so tight. I've broken plastic tyre levers doing this job so now I have a pair of steel tyre levers.

It makes it much easier although one needs to be careful not to pinch the tube as this will cause a hole.

And that's exactly what I did wrong on my front wheel this time. At least now I have new tubes in both tyres. 

It was great to have a shower and use a normal fluffy towel instead of my grimey camp towel.

I went to a big supermarket and bought some more fruit, a salad and some smoked salmon for dinner.

It will be a luxury to sleep in a real bed with an ensuite, air con, a fridge, and even my own washer and dryer.

No drunken campers or road trains to wake me during the night. No midges, sand flies or mozzies to feast on my body.

The internet works on my phone and there are plenty of power points to charge my devices.

This is my heaven for the next few days and Serena will join me on Friday night.

Today's ride: 52 km (32 miles)
Total: 6,564 km (4,076 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Rich FrasierCongratulations on reaching Darwin! I’ve been following along for weeks and have really enjoyed your journey so far. I never would be brave enough to attempt what you’re doing. Looking over your shoulder via this journal is the next best thing. I know you have a long way still to go, but I hope you can feel some satisfaction about what you’ve accomplished already. Enjoy your days of rest!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Toby TesterCongratulations on getting to Darwin. What an achievement! Sorry about the flat. Maybe I jinxed it by asking if you had any. Hopefully the new tyres will last you for the rest of the trip. That air con must feel good.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rita McCarthyDefinitely sounds like you’re lapping up the luxury. You deserve it. Congratulations on reaching the Darwin milestone. Best wishes to you both.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Annie O'SheaWhat a wonderful achievement you must feel very proud of yourself, I must admit I'm totally proud of you. Enjoy the luxuries of Darwin, my love to you and Serena
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Veronica JoinerDarwin is a lovely city. Enjoy your time there. Lots to see and do. We will enjoy the cool weather here and rain.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Rich, thank you for taking the time to say hello. It does feel like an achievement making it this far. I try not to think of how many kms I still have in front of me. Thanks.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Toby. Thank you.

I did think of you when I got the flat but you didn't jinx me. Many people also ask how many flats I've had and how many tyres I've gone through.

The air con is great!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you aunty Rita.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Mum. Yep I'm proud. It's the biggest thing I've done in a few years.
xox
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you aunty Veronica.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago