Day 129: Edith River to Pine Creek - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2021

Day 129: Edith River to Pine Creek

Start: 7:40am
Distance: 52kms
Ride time: 2:52hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 44km/hr 
Finish: 10:30am
Temp: 14-30C

I used the water bladder with the patched holes, empty and filled with air as my pillow last night.

It went flat and I patched the ninth hole this morning. 

A few more vans did turn up during the evening. None of them could get close to my camp area.

Crossing the Ferguson River.
Heart 3 Comment 0

This is another offshoot of the same source as Edith River. There is a sign here calling it Ferguson River. 

Yet Google maps calls this Wardie River. It can be confusing. 

This is the yellow kapok tree that I tasted yesterday. It's deciduous.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Morning road pic. This section had a freshly graded and compacted dirt section that was sweet to ride on.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Second tree pic.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I arrived in Pine Creek and rode up the short and very steep road to Enterprise Lookout.

It overlooks an old open-cut gold mine now filled with water.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I then stopped at the only cafe in town and had a banoffee and a coffee.
Heart 5 Comment 0

This country belongs to the Wagiman people.

Big windmill in the town park.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Great coloured lilly.
Heart 7 Comment 0
School project I assume.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lots of bats in the park.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There is a small train museum in the park too. This engine was built in Manchester in 1877.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This carriage was used in the film We Of The Never Never.
Heart 5 Comment 0
An American portable firetube boiler.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I checked in to the Lazy Lizard caravan park. 

Unpowered site is $24.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I saw this sign in the camp kitchen.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I always found that everyone is free to use power from the camp kitchens. This sign made me concerned as my power banks were low and I might have to bush camp tomorrow night. 

I spoke to the receptionist who said: "You can use it. It was put up because 15 backpackers plugged in their laptops and fridges and everything!"

I thought it was bizarre yet I was happy she said I could use it. I agree with the person that wrote 'rude' on the sign.

These are hooded parrots.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Hooded parrot.

This afternoon I found 5 holes in my second water bladder. I think the cause of the holes is from wear and tear.

When I don't have water in them I scrunch them up and put them in the bottom of my panniers.

I think the numerous times I've done this has weakened the inner bladder and caused the tiny holes on the foil folds.

I wasn't confident I would find a replacement pillow and water bladders in Darwin. I called a shop in Adelaide and had them express post the items to the Darwin post office for me.

Today's ride: 52 km (32 miles)
Total: 6,291 km (3,907 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rita McCarthyClever fore thought Vince. You obviously have everything worked out well. Love reading your blogs.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyI'm doing my best with the gear. Luckily everything that's broken so far has been minor even though it's still frustrating.
I'm lucky that I'm close to towns and not going off grid for for weeks.
Thank you.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago