Day 125: Mataranka to King River - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2021

Day 125: Mataranka to King River

Start: 7:20am
Distance: 62kms
Ride time: 3:27hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 26km/hr 
Finish: 11:45am

Last night's band was interesting. There was some yodelling and harmonica. They finished at 9pm.

My alarm woke me at 6 and I was slow to get up.

Once I packed up I went to the servo for a bacon and egg roll for breakfast. While I was there I remembered that I had left 2 salad sandwiches in the camp kitchen fridge. So I went and retrieved them before heading out of town.

Morning road pic.
Heart 7 Comment 0
https://www.bluetreeproject.com.au/
Heart 4 Comment 0
2nd tree pic.
Heart 6 Comment 0
3rd tree pic is a pretty grevillea.
Heart 5 Comment 0

After a warm 62kms I arrived at the King River rest area.

There are a couple tanks with water. I'm always happy when I find water at rest stops. I'm also a little frustrated that I carted extra water on the way here. 

It would be convenient if there was some way to know if there was water at rest stops before leaving the previous town.

There are already 7 caravans here at midday, set up to stay the night.

There is no phone reception here. There's also no flies or mozzies here which is a welcome change.

Free!
Heart 5 Comment 0

When no one was looking I had a wash behind the water tank.

The only birds here were apostles chirping around the place and black kites soaring overhead.

Today is the 4 month anniversary of the start of my ride.

Today's ride: 62 km (39 miles)
Total: 6,110 km (3,794 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rita McCarthyYou’re amazing Vince. Very impressed! Congratulations on your 4month anniversary.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Rita. Serena also deserves congratulations as she's working hard and looking after the kids while I'm away.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago