Day 124: Larrimah to Mataranka - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2021

Day 124: Larrimah to Mataranka

Start: 8:10am
Distance: 80kms
Ride time: 4:14hrs
Average: 19km/hr
Max: 26km/hr 
Finish: 1:10pm

I heard the occasional road train during the night. I wore ear plugs and was able to sleep fine.

I thought this small shrub had interesting flowers.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Warloch Ponds had no water but plenty of green grass.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was a hot day at 33C. I should have left earlier in the morning to avoid the heat.

There was a moderate amount traffic, mostly caravans. All of them gave me room when passing. I managed to get off the road when road trains came past. 

I've never seen so many road trains. I was listening to podcasts and could still hear the big trucks approaching. 

After a long few hours I arrived in Never Never land.
Heart 7 Comment 0

This refers to Jeanie Gunn's autobiographical novel We Of The Never Never published in 1908.

I have this as an audio book so I'll listen to it soon.

There is a Never Never museum here that was closed.

Termite hill.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaVery impressive, never seen one quite that big
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I thought it might be real but it's made from concrete. I don't know why there is an angry bull plaque on it.

I was looking forward to visiting the supermarket and was saddened to see it closed.

I visited the 3 servos and was able to buy enough food including a few old apples to get me through to Katherine. 

In the park were a few sculptures of characters from the We Of The Never Never book.

Bett Bett and her dog Sue.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The author and her husband.
Heart 4 Comment 0

There are some hot springs nearby. I'm already hot so I wasn't keen to visit them.

I checked in to the Territory Manor Caravan Park. 

$15 for grass with lots of shade.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bike touring is thirsty work!
Heart 4 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaThat's not proper Heineken no alcohol hahaha
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rita McCarthyThink that one would quench your thirst more than alcoholic ones but something tells me you’re seeing if you’re mum’s awake.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
The park had free ranging peacocks.
Heart 2 Comment 0

There is a band playing tonight. Hopefully it won't be too rowdy. I'm too old and tired to be partying on a school night.

Today I clocked 6,000kms. It means I'm about one third of the way in to my trip.

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 6,048 km (3,756 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Toby TesterWell done on clocking 6000kms. I have the same tyres as yourself on my touring bike. Have you had any flats so far?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rita McCarthyCongratulations on reaching the 3rd way milestone! That’s massive!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyG'day Toby, fortunately I haven't had any flats yet. My tyres are wearing down and I'll replace them in Darwin. I also carry a spare tyre in case of catastrophic failure.
Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you. Yes mum was paying attention.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago