Day 123: Daly Waters to Larrimah - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2021

Day 123: Daly Waters to Larrimah

Start: 6:50am
Distance: 96kms
Ride time: 4:53hrs
Average: 20km/hr
Max: 28km/hr 
Finish: 12:20pm

My alarm went off at 5:30am as it was due to reach 32C later in the day. It felt like 5C when I woke. Maybe the coldest morning of the trip so far.

The roadhouse opens at 6am and I went there for a hearty breakfast.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The Carpentaria Hwy ends at Daly Waters. 

I am now heading north to Darwin on the Stuart Hwy.
Heart 8 Comment 0

The Stuart HWY runs between Adelaide in the south and Darwin in the north.

The speed limit is a high 130km/hr on some roads in the Northern Territory.
Heart 6 Comment 0

It's not ideal when there is little or no shoulder.

Morning road pic.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Veronica Joinerwow not much shoulder to work with. Stay safe
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I lost phone reception soon after leaving Daly Waters. About 20kms out of town I saw this:

This is a magical device that gives you mobile phone service.
Heart 8 Comment 0

You have to put your phone on the stand for it to work. I got one bar of 4G.

I passed a couple road trains heading south that were carrying cotton.

Some of it fell off.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I stopped at a rest area at about the 50km mark. It had toilets and water tanks.

There were lots of caravans on the road compared to the Carpentaria HWY. Between 10am and 11am, I counted 16 caravans heading north to Darwin and 18 caravans heading south to Adelaide. 

I got off the road for 4 road trains in the hour too.

Today's tree pic was in full bloom.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Grass regrowth after a fuel reduction burn.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I arrived at Larrimah at lunchtime and went to Fran's. It's a backyard cafe set-up. I had a caramel milkshake and a big salad sandwich for a total of $12.

I then checked in to the Larrimah Pink Panther Hotel Caravan Park.
Heart 6 Comment 0
$15.
Heart 3 Comment 0

There is an elaborate bowerbird nest in the bushes next to my tent. The bird has collected lots of rocks, glass and bits of metal.

End view.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Top view.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I think this guy is the owner, a great bowerbird.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Great bowerbird

A crested pigeon.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Crested pigeon.

This is Walk-up. He likes gentle scratches. He said hello to me.
Heart 3 Comment 0

He's a long-billed corella

There are some bikes at the pub.

A triple tandem.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A rusty Raleigh.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A tired tricycle.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I am close to the road and lots of road trains have gone past.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I hope they stop during the night.

There is Optus phone reception here and no Telstra. I am with a company that uses the Telstra network. 

It gave me the opportunity to spend a couple hours reading.

Today's ride: 96 km (60 miles)
Total: 5,968 km (3,706 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rita McCarthyWe were amazed with how many caravaners head up to Darwin. Can see why you need to wear bright colours.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago