Day 121: Bullwaddy to Daly Waters - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2021

Day 121: Bullwaddy to Daly Waters

Start: 8:35am
Distance: 93kms
Ride time: 4:28hrs
Average: 21km/hr
Max: 34km/hr 
Finish: 2pm

It was another cool night. I was snuggled in my sleeping bag with the morning sun shining inside my tent on to me. I finally got up about 7:45am.

Morning road pic.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The road was smooth and I had a tailwind in the morning. The weather was warm and not too hot. A perfect day for cycling.

There was some traffic and I got off the road for everyone. I could have stayed on the road but then cars would drive half off the road and half on the dirt and create dust. 

Today's tree pic.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This flower was growing on a small shrub on the roadside. It looks a bit like a weed.
Heart 3 Comment 6
Kerrie McCarthyHibiscus 🌺🤷‍♀️
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Annie O'SheaYes Kerries right
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltHibiscus family. Probably native cotton.

http://www.northqueenslandplants.com/Australian%20Plant%20Families%20G-M/Malvaceae/Gossypium/Gossypium%20australe.html
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Kerrie!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Mum!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill. Excellent link. It's definitely the same plant. Thanks you.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Later Kerrie, Mum and Bill identified this as a Hibiscus. Probably a native cotton. Thanks everyone. 

I was having a drink break when this nice butterfly landed beside me.
Heart 5 Comment 0

It's a blue pansy.

It was a pleasant day to cycle today. I listened to an audio book the whole way.

The first billboard of my destination.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I try not to think of food and drinks until I get this close to the town. The billboards on the outskirts of town are always a delight for me to see.

I start wondering what they might have and what I would buy.

There is a roadhouse here with a caravan park out the back. The roadhouse is also a pub and serves meals all day.

I enjoyed a barramundi burger and a coke. It's busy and I waited 30 minutes for it. It was delicious. I was too busy eating to take a picture. 

It was 2:45pm by the time I went to make camp. All the shade tree spots were taken so I pitched my tent next to the camp kitchen.

A good price at $7.
Heart 3 Comment 0

There is one shower and 2 toilets in the men's. The shower is hot and has good pressure. I enjoy being clean and clean shaven.

I charged my devices in the laundry. I'm always able to find a free power outlet in the camp kitchen, laundry or toilets.

I had barra again for dinner.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I ate it all except for some chips. It felt great to eat salad. 

Today's ride: 93 km (58 miles)
Total: 5,856 km (3,637 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithVince we didn’t see green salad for about 1200 km crossing the Ceduna to Norseman stretch. Makes me wonder about the nourishment of people who live in these low and no greens regions.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyI have similar thoughts. There's lots of Australians that have no choice but to eat an inadequate diet.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago