Day 118: Caranbirini to Goanna Creek - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2021

Day 118: Caranbirini to Goanna Creek

Start: 7:40am
Distance: 113kms
Ride time: 6:23hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 28km/hr 
Finish: 4:10pm

I had a fairly good sleep. I wasn't attacked by any pigs. The mine road trains started at 4am.

Evidence I'm friendly to road trains.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyDefinitely can see why they call them road trains.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Once I passed the McArthur River mine the road changed from 2 lanes down to 1 lane.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rocky hill.
Heart 2 Comment 0

There wasn't much traffic and the road was mostly flat. There were a few road trains carrying fuel or cargo. 

After about 70kms I arrived at the Cape Crawford roadhouse. 

The only food available was burgers, so naturally I got the biggest one.

I won this time.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Then I hit the road again. There were lots of locusts. Sometimes I would ride through a cloud of them. The pesky fellows would hit me in the face or crawl up my back.

After lunch road pic.
Heart 2 Comment 0

After another 43kms I made it to the Goanna Creek Rest Area. I made this my destination as there is a water tank here.

These yellow-plumed honeyeaters also appreciated the water.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltIs that a long tailed finch on the right?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long-tailed_finch
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Bill, yes indeed you're correct. Please forgive my tardiness in not mentioning him.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Bill later identified that I failed to name the long tailed finch on the right. Whoops. Thanks Bill.

I was happy to see these birds as I hadn't seen many on today's ride. I hadn't stopped much today. Just kept on pedalling trying to make it here.

I'm on a little hill. I don't know where Goanna Creek is.

Some locusts heading east.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Free!
Heart 3 Comment 0

There was no one else here so I took the opportunity to wash off the day's filth. 

Shortly after a caravan set up camp and put on their noisy generator for a while.

Sunset pic.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 113 km (70 miles)
Total: 5,620 km (3,490 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0