Day 116: Rest day - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2021

Day 116: Rest day

I didn't sleep too well. Some locals were partying until 4am.

I enjoyed some cereal with fresh milk for breaky. 

Then I spent an hour or so working out the next week. The next town is Mataranka, 550kms of sealed road. There are 3 roadhouses along the way.

I needed to work out where I would be able to get water, how much I need to carry and how far I will ride each day.

Once I had that information I knew it would take me 7 days to get to Mataranka. That's my best guess.

Then I did a stock of my existing food and made a list of what I had to buy.

I had to go to the 2 supermarkets to get what I wanted.

This is all the food I have to get me through the next week.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Plus some fruit although I ate it all today except for the apples.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I went to the local museum.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I learnt the Borroloola area is home to four different aboriginal peoples, the Yanyuwa, Mara, Karawa and Kurdanji.

This is pretty much an Aboriginal town. Everyone I've spoken to have been very friendly and interested in my bike trip.

Some cheer and wave as they go past me like I'm a movie star.

I was very impressed to see this tree trunk in the museum.
Heart 7 Comment 0

It was marked with the letter L by Ludwig Leichhardt in 1845 by the Calvert River as he was exploring the area.

Next I had a delicious burger from the roadhouse.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I'm surprised to say that I couldn't finish it all. It's a rare day that I'm beaten by a burger.

I spent the arvo writing up my journey for the last few days and enjoying being able to sit on a chair in the shade.

Andrew asked how I attach my water bladders to my bike. I use cheap carabiners that I bought from Bunnings.

I attach the carabiners as wide as possible to the rear rack to prevent them sliding on to the tyre.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyBest of luck on your next leg of the journey, Vince.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

In this position I can access the water easily without having to take the water bladder off.

It does make it difficult to access the panniers.

Today's ride: 5 km (3 miles)
Total: 5,462 km (3,392 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Lionel MorbelliHi Vince, I met your mum today at the tavern between Bundaberg and Rosedale, QLD. Well done!
I'm also cycling around Australia, for RFDS, as per ride4u.me
We might not meet as I'm well behind. All the best mate!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyG'day Lionel, congratulations on your ride! What a coincidence you met my mum. Take care mate.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Lionel MorbelliTo Lionel MorbelliHi Vince, well done for your trip. Not sure whether you connected my messages... I was cycling around Australia. I first met your mum between Bundaberg and Rosedale, QLD, during my lunch at a pub. Then a cyclist in his car offered me bananas around Elliott, NT, and it was you!!! Thanks so much for helping me that day!
Australia is so small, that I meet your mum then you!!! Lionel Morbelli
Reply to this comment
2 years ago