Day 114: Robinson River to Wearyan River - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2021

Day 114: Robinson River to Wearyan River

Start: 8:15am
Distance: 52kms
Ride time: 3:08hrs
Average: 17km/hr
Max: 26km/hr 
Finish: 12:45pm

I lay in bed for a while before getting up. I wasn't keen to cycle on more corrugations. 

I was rewarded by seeing another dingo. Wahoo! This one didn't hang around for a photo.

The road was narrow for a short section this morning.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The road improved on yesterday although there were still corrugations. I had to walk the bike twice as it was too sandy. 

There were many places where the road was smooth.

Only 15 vehicles would pass me today.

Including this road train.
Heart 5 Comment 0

He gave me a friendly toot as he went by.

The road was too tough for this Holden.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I'm sure this road claims many vehicles. I've spoken to a few people that have lost things from their vehicle or broken things. Plus I've seen various parts on the road that have become detached from vehicles. 

Today's tree pic.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I don't know what these are. Maybe a pandanas or cabbage tree palm?
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltFrom what I find, pandanas grow in moist areas, so this looks like it might more likely be cabbage tree palm.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pandanus_spiralis
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Bill. Thank you for clearing that up for me. Cheers
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Bill later found out that pandanas grow in moist areas so these are likely cabbage tree palms. Thanks Bill.

Foelshe River crossing.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The water was a bit over my knees. I left the panniers on the bike and they provided some buoyancy as I walked across.

This person had their camp set up right next to the water. They obviously aren't worried about crocs.
Heart 3 Comment 0

A little past the river I saw a feral black and white dog run across the road.

Wearyan River crossing. It was similar to the Foelshe River crossing and flowing fast.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It is about another 50kms to Borroloola and it would be a huge effort to do 100kms on this road in one day. Especially after yesterday's rough day.

So I found a spot on a hill under the shade of a big tree to make camp. While I was pitching the tent a car pulled up to say hello.

Scotty is today's hero!
Heart 9 Comment 0

He was driving from Darwin to Cairns. We chatted over a beer and then he continued on his way.

People are nice.

Free!
Heart 5 Comment 0

I went back down to the river to wash and collect water. It was flowing fast and the water was clear.

A car with a trailer crossed the river. I stopped them because they had a strap hanging loose.

They had lost 2 x 20ltr fuel drums on the road. They went back to look for them.

There were lots of wattles in flower today. This one was next to my tent.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I think this is a cycad? I was surprised to see them here.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaYep you're right, a cycad
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
When I was walking down to the water one of my sandals broke.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I did a temporary fix with cable ties. Hopefully this will last until I get to Darwin.
Heart 2 Comment 4
Mike AylingCable ties or duct tape will fix anything!
Mike
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rita McCarthyClever man! Certainly are prepared.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyMy sandals are a welcome relief to put on at the end of the day. Cable ties are small and lightweight to carry and can be used to fix lots of things. I carry about 15 spares.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Evening pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I was lying in bed reading when I felt something crawling on my arm. I'm now used to all sorts of bugs.

This one freaked me out a bit. It's a tick. Luckily he didn't bite me.
Heart 2 Comment 3
Annie O'SheaThey cancelled make you sick if your not careful, they actually bury them selves in your skin. Make sure you check yourself daily.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rita McCarthyYuk! Hate those bugs!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Mum, I remember them from Marlo. That's why I wasn't happy to see this one.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 52 km (32 miles)
Total: 5,395 km (3,350 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rita McCarthyThis stretch is certainly testing your skills. Well done Vince!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham SmithThe road conditions you are describing are very similar to the 700km Gibb River Road from (near) Kununurra to Derby.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank Rita. It was challenging at times and other times, once I had made camp it was very peaceful.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Graham, I was hoping you would provide a comparison. Thank you.

I'm 90% certain that I will skip the Gibb on this ride. I find unrelenting corrugations too taxing.

You're amazing for doing the Gibb! Hats off to you.
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago