Day 113: Calvert River to Robinson River - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2021

Day 113: Calvert River to Robinson River

Start: 7:45am
Distance: 72kms
Ride time: 5:10hrs
Average: 14km/hr
Max: 40km/hr 
Finish: 3:30pm

The day started off with a light fog.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This was a very sandy patch of the road.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Surprise Creek.
Heart 6 Comment 0
My first water crossing in NT.
Heart 6 Comment 0

It wasn't deep. It felt adventurous riding through it anyway.

This pic doesn't show up the corrugations very well. There were lots and lots.
Heart 2 Comment 3
Mike AylingWow, I feel for you Vince.
Sometimes it is smoother right on the edge of the road.

Mike
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Mike. That worked some of the time. Mostly it was too sandy. I would zigzag across the road constantly looking for the best path.
Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Annie O'SheaThat's what I'd say is a bone shaker hahahahaha
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

It was very difficult riding conditions. I had to keep changing my line to be in the less bumpy section.

At times I was barely able to stay on the bike.

The corrugations were endless and sometimes there was lots of sand just to sap my energy a little bit more.

I'm lucky my bike and my body held together. My wrists and back ached and my ears did the weird waterlogged thing. These ailments stopped once I made camp.

It was taxing. I drank and ate a lot.

I saw about 30 vehicles today. 5 cars kindly stopped to ask if I was in need of anything.

One of them was today's hero Dan.
Heart 8 Comment 0

We spoke for a few minutes and before the dust from his car had settled, I sculled that beer as if my life depended on it.

Glug glug glug.
Heart 8 Comment 0

It really lifted my spirits. Luckily I only had 3kms to get to Robinson River. 

A couple motorcyclists were about to cross the river. Lucky for me one of them had already walked it to check the depth.

It was about 40cm deep and 50m wide. It was flowing fast.
Heart 7 Comment 0

To stop my panniers getting wet I took them off the bike and walked them across before walking my bike through. It was too rocky to ride.

View looking back the way I had come.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Lagoon.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I made camp about 50m from the water in an old sandy part of the river. I used rocks to anchor my tent.

Free!
Heart 5 Comment 0

Once I made camp I returned to the river to wash and collect water. I did this in a shallow section where the road was. 

I felt fairly safe from crocodiles here. I still did everything quickly.

I ate a snack and drank some electrolytes and then returned to the water to look for birds.

And I saw this pretty dingo!
Heart 7 Comment 0
We watched each other for 1 minute before she ran away. I was very excited!
Heart 5 Comment 0

It's my third dingo sighting on this trip and the first time I was able to get a photo.

I'm camped next to the river and there is a camping area up on the hill. One of the campers walked down and told me not to leave my shoes outside as a dingo might take one.

He and his wife then enjoyed a leisurely swim. They weren't worried about crocodiles. I still am.

It's weird how people have differing views on crocodiles being a danger.

About 6pm there was some light drizzle. I haven't had any rain for weeks. It wasn't enough to wash the dust of my tent.

Today's ride: 72 km (45 miles)
Total: 5,343 km (3,318 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0