Day 108: Burketown to bush camp - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2021

Day 108: Burketown to bush camp

Start: 6:20am
Distance: 114kms
Ride time: 6:11hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 29km/hr 
Finish: 2:45pm

I slept well and wasn't harassed by any salties.

I was up before the sun, ready for a big day.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Deleted AccountBeautiful sunrise Vince, love the route you are taking
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I had to backtrack the 7kms to Burketown. I saw about 20 wallabies on the ride to town.

I was filling up with water in the park when a car pulled up and someone called my name.

It was the nice information centre man from yesterday. He asked if everything went well.

I forgot to mention yesterday that he also offered to drive me and the bike in his Troop carrier to the campsite. A kind man.

The road out of Burketown.
Heart 3 Comment 0
These steers ran over to the fence to check me out. Usually cattle run away.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I saw several wedgies today. All were feeding on roadkill.

This is the best pic of the day. I thanked him for being so awesome. It made me smile lots.
Heart 12 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltBest wedge-tailed eagle picture I've seen following cycle tours!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wedge-tailed_eagle
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Bill, they are a little majestic or magical or very powerful to see up close.

It's a shame they're feeding off roadkill as this sometimes ends with them being hit by vehicles too. Because they are so big and heavy, they are very slow to take off from the ground.

Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Cheryl IvesBeautiful photo Vince,
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Bill supplied this link.

First mention of Darwin. Wahoo! I'm almost there.
Heart 9 Comment 0
After 40kms I stopped in at the Tirranna Roadhouse.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Simon JohnstonI don't see any Holdens - definitely no Tirrannas.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyI was a bit slow and then I got it. Hehehe.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
It was small and I managed to score some salad sandwiches. A real treat.
Heart 7 Comment 0

A car pulled up as I was about to depart. They had come from Doomadgee and warned me that it 'wasn't safe' and was 'rough.'

I asked them for details and was wary when they didn't provide any. 

Another road pic.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Big Oaky Creek was dry.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I thought this gum tree was interesting because all the of flowers were at the top.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Two tree pics today. I liked the smooth white bark of this one.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This interesting grey bush was on the roadside. It looks a little like a salt bush.
Heart 5 Comment 0
There were more burnoffs.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Luckily my panniers were dry.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Nicholson River just before Doomadgee had a small weir.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I saw 6 brumbies near this spot.

On the outskirts of town a car pulled up and beckoned me. It was a local called Allen and his family. He just wanted to say hi and find out what I was doing. He was friendly and shook my hand twice.

I went to the roadhouse which was small. I bought a pie for second lunch, a couple cookies and some milk.

I couldn't see any water taps outside so I asked the lady at the till. She directed me to a tap where I could fill up.

She was kind and helpful. I don't understand the comments from the people I spoke to outside Tirranna Roadhouse. 

There is no campground at Doomadgee.

I rode 6kms out of town, found an unused track and went down it 200m to find a suitable camp spot.

Free!
Heart 8 Comment 0
And it's next to another dam.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The flies have been getting worse the last few days. I put on two layers of insect repellent but it still didn't deter them.

So I broke out my head net.
Heart 8 Comment 0

The road was bitumen today and the terrain flat. It was a warm 31C.

It was a busy day on the road as I saw 45 vehicles. 

There was phone reception in Doomadgee but here it keeps dropping out.

After sunset I heard horses splashing about in the dam. They were neighing and snorting.

Today's ride: 114 km (71 miles)
Total: 5,051 km (3,137 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0