Day 106: Bush camp to Leichhardt Falls - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 27, 2021

Day 106: Bush camp to Leichhardt Falls

Start: 7:40am
Distance: 73kms
Ride time: 4:23hrs
Average: 17km/hr
Max: 30km/hr 
Finish: 1:05pm

There was a strong tailwind all night so I took my time getting up this morning. 

Unfortunately I'm not good in telling the wind direction when I'm sleepy. It turned it was mostly a side wind all day.

Morning road pic.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Veronica Joinergreat road picture. Love the colours and the long shadow of you.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyI enjoy see my shadow in different positions. It's like my ever-present cycle touring shadow friend.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

It was a dirt road all day. Mostly in good condition. 

I liked this cow's wavy horn.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This place had hundreds of termite mounds.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Another road pic.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I saw 25 vehicles today. Most of them slowed down to reduce the dust storm in their wake.

One time I was having a rest on the side of the road and a car stopped to ask if I was okay. Nice country people.

A little gum tree bouquet.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This was one of the biggest trees I saw all day.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaThe further west you go the smaller trees you'll see
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Leichhardt River.
Heart 7 Comment 0
There are meant to be waterfalls here somewhere but there isn't enough water.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A 2 metre freshie sunbaking.
Heart 6 Comment 0
A small snake skin where I parked my bike.
Heart 5 Comment 0

It is all bumpy rock and no soil so not possible to put in tent pegs.

I parked my bike on top of the small cliff and walked my panniers down to the river beach.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Free!
Heart 8 Comment 0

I used rocks to anchor my tent.

The river was murky and I was very keen for a swim. I'm not concerned about the freshies. 

There were 3 reports of salties on Wikicamps. I don't know how reliable the information is but I didn't end up going for a swim.

I did go down to the water a few times to collect some and then filter it for drinking.

The filter worked well. It's the first time I've used it in the field. It took about 10 minutes to do 1 litre. 

My tent is about 5 metres above the water level so I should be safe from any salties if there are any in the river.

Today's ride: 73 km (45 miles)
Total: 4,856 km (3,016 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0