Day 104: Rest Day - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2021

Day 104: Rest Day

I had a little sleep in until 7:30am.

This campground is a little oasis and is very popular. The no vacancy sign is still up today.

It has a big pool and a spa.
Heart 7 Comment 0
And a big camp kitchen.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Some artwork on the amenities block.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I went across the road and had a nice coffee in the cafe/shop.

Then I went to the information centre.

I found out that Krys who shot the big croc regretted it and later turned full circle and became an advocate for saving crocodiles. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

I spoke to the staff member Jason. He told me about the condition of the roads, where the water points are and where the roadhouses are.

He spoke like a cyclist and not a car driver. He understood what my requirements were. He said he had given similar directions to another cyclist last week.

He eased my worry about the road ahead.

A very helpful Jason.
Heart 8 Comment 0

I spent some time in the centre planning out my next week.

It is 226kms to the next town. I'll do this over 3 days.

At 10:20am there was 7 caravans lining up to get into the caravan park.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I went to the post office to get a card to send to the person who gifted me the treats on Day 95. There were not many cards to choose from.

This was my best pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I wrote him/her a nice thank you and posted it off. I wanted him/her to know how it made me feel on the day.

The Purple Pub. No meals today.
Heart 8 Comment 0

I then went to the shop to buy a couple more items.

Fresh produce is difficult to find and more expensive than what I pay for it in Canberra.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I'm not complaining, I'm grateful that I can buy it. Freight costs would be high out here. 

It's been days since I've had this much to choose from.

Hopefully this will get me a lot closer to Darwin
Heart 6 Comment 2
Lednar De NallohRapid Shave? Time to go feral and grow a beard.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Lednar,

I've thought about it but it makes me too hot and I find it easier to keep clean if I don't have too much facial hair.

Plus my wife forbids it.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I spent some time getting rid of the outer packaging material and squeezing it all into my front panniers. I still have many dehydrated meals too.

I've probably got too much food but I don’t want to have to rely on roadhouses for food other than hamburgers etc.

This is the torx tool I bought yesterday for $13.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I used it to open up the Rohloff ex box.

I did this in the shade of the camp kitchen. 

It was filled with aluminium dust. It should be squeaky clean except for a little grease.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The cables were wearing down the inside of the aluminium housing.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The aluminium dust became compacted in the cable channels, thereby raising the cables even more from their original position. 

I cleaned out the dust from the channels on the round thing and then put it all back together.

It took me an hour but it's working like new again. A great relief.

The cables looked fine. I do have a spare  inner cable set if it falls apart.

I carry two spare tubes with me plus lots of repair patches.
Heart 5 Comment 0

These tubes have held the air remarkably well. I haven't put any more air into them since I left home 103 days ago.

As a reward for fixing my bike, I jumped in the pool to cool down. 

I've achieved a lot today, sorted out my route for the next week, bought lots of food and fixed my bike.

I'm feeling confident again and am looking forward to riding in a more remote part of Australia. 

Today's ride: 4 km (2 miles)
Total: 4,696 km (2,916 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Toby TesterHi Vince, just letting you know that I'm following your progress around Australia. In fact, I set up my browser to load your page along with other pages - news, email etc. My name is Toby and a fellow touring cyclist, but nothing on your scale!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rita McCarthyGreat to see you’re well prepared. Good luck on the next leg of your journey.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Toby TesterHi Toby,

Thank you for getting in touch. Be careful about bike touring. It can become addictive.
I try to not think about how big my planned ride is. I just try to focus on one week at a time.
So far so good, I'm having a wonderful time.
Take care.
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Rita,

The next 2 weeks will be pretty big. Hopefully I'll survive.

xox
Reply to this comment
2 years ago