Day 101: Gilbert River to Croydon - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2021

Day 101: Gilbert River to Croydon

Start: 7:30am
Distance: 75kms
Ride time: 3:48hrs
Average: 20km/hr
Max: 47km/hr 
Finish: 12:30pm

I had a peaceful night's sleep being 75kms from the nearest person.

I looked for freshies in the morning without any success. 

There were some kangaroos in the rest area when I left and they all quickly hopped away.

I saw lots of red-winged parrots this morning.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Red-winged parrot.

After 30kms, I entered Littleton National Park.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I saw some nice flowers.

Grevillea.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This grevillea had lots of tiny droplets of nectar at the base of the flower. I licked it and it tasted nice and sweet.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Crossing Spring Creek.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Veronica Joinerbeautiful reflection.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Turkey bush.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Serena identified this turkey bush for me.

I forgot this river's name. Sorry.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I stopped in this unused track for a break. It had lots of little termite mounds.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Today's road pic.
Heart 3 Comment 0

There was not much traffic today. 1 car every 5-10 minutes. I only saw one road train.

I made it!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Town sculpture. The lizard is a Gilbert's dragon.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Information centre. The town was founded on underground mining.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Park sculpture.
Heart 8 Comment 0
This is a spear and boomerang of the Tagalaka People.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I had a hamburger from the roadhouse before making camp at the Croydon Caravan Park. 

$17.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I had a swim in their pool which wasn't heated so it was 26.5C. Perfect.

Then I smelt these frangipanis.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 4,527 km (2,811 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Annie O'SheaLoving the sculptures so Australian
Reply to this comment
2 years ago