Day 100: Georgetown to Gilbert Creek - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 21, 2021

Day 100: Georgetown to Gilbert Creek

Start: 6:40am
Distance: 78kms
Ride time: 3:53hrs
Average: 20km/hr
Max: 44km/hr 
Finish: 11:30am

I was up with the birds this morning.

These are more red-tailed black cockatoos.
Heart 5 Comment 0

They were in a flock of 100. It was very impressive to see them gently flap their wings while calling to each other.

Morning light.
Heart 6 Comment 0
2kms out of town, I saw a big feral black pig walk across the road.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaBe careful those pigs can be very vicious and fast
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Mum.



I'm not scared.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

And 10 minutes after that I saw a feral cat walk across the road. He ran off into the scrub when he saw me.

Seemingly in the middle of nowhere was this big chimney.
Heart 7 Comment 0

There used to be a gold mining town on this site called Cumberland. It was abandoned in 1897.

There was also a pretty dam.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Crossing Log Creek.
Heart 8 Comment 0
I finally got a pic of a wedged-tailed eagle!
Heart 9 Comment 0

It's blurry because my phone camera is still stupid. This bird was feeding on roadkill and it flew into a tree when I rolled up.

Today's tree pic. Being blown by a nice tailwind.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I wasn't sure if there would be water at today's destination so I filled up with 14 litres this morning.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Deleted AccountHi vince, how do you have those bladders secured?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Andrew, I use cheap carabiners. I'll put a pic up on today's blog.
Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Today's road pic is long, straight and flat.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Rita McCarthyThat’s the sort of road I like to ride on, probably boring for you though.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyNot too boring. I keep busy keeping the pedals turning.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
This wattle flower on the side of the road had a sweet perfume.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Rita McCarthyAlways reminds me of dad’s bush property.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Just before I crossed Gilbert River I saw a small mango plantation.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It surprised me because the vegetation has mostly been dry scrub land.

Sadly it's not mango season. Nor was there a shop selling mango smoothies.

Gilbert River.
Heart 6 Comment 0

The water level is about 50cm and it's flowing very slowly. 

There is a rest area nearby with no facilities except bins. It looks like people camp there too.

I took a small track down to the river bank and made camp. Free!
Heart 5 Comment 0

I saw two freshies about 1m long. They are very skittish so I couldn't get a pic.

I had a wash in the water and washed my clothes.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The water was mild and I kinda hurried as I'm a little wary of freshies.

I walked along the track and saw this sand goanna, about 50cm long.
Heart 7 Comment 0
He was very pretty and allowed me to get close to take the pics.
Heart 8 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltGreat shot! I see few lizard photos on bike journals and this one is stellar!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Sand goanna.

An eastern great egret.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Eastern great egret.

I got talking to travellers Dorothy and Deirdre from Brisbane, on their way to Broome. 

They kindly donated some home made shortbread to me. It was yum.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Later in the arvo, the sand goanna came snooping around my campsite.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooking for a handout perhaps?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Bill,

Thanks. He wasn't scavenging for camp food. My lunch wrappers were on the ground and I through him a sultana and he ignored them.
I saw him digging small holes perhaps looking for bugs or frogs?

Cheers Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

And surprisingly I have phone reception here. My phone plan is with Boost which uses the Telstra phone network.

Evening river pic.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Rita McCarthyGreat picture!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham SmithBeautiful photo. ‘Straight to the pool room’ standard.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

There's no one else staying here so it feels very peaceful listening to the birds in the evening.

Today's ride: 78 km (48 miles)
Total: 4,452 km (2,765 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Victa CalvoCongratulations on your 100th day Vince. Love reading your blog.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Victa,

Thank you for taking the time to say hi.

Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago