Day 7 - Sparta - Viking Quest ~ 2023 - CycleBlaze

Day 7 - Sparta

Day 7 - 400 State Trail linking with the Sparta Trail

Heart 1 Comment 3
Randy Carter-BrownKeith, It was so nice to meet you today. Safe travels my friend I had the opportunity to ride a bit this amazing person
Randy
Onalaska WI
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerThanks joining for the Cycleblaze…. They owners don’t send an emails or notices out on new posts. They don’t want it to be like Facebook. It is a great way to trade your bike adventures
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Well, very nice day despite the high humidity. I road the two trails listed above almost all day.  The “almost” word is extremely important to the great outcome of Day 7 to Sparta WI.

I would like to start at the ending of the day if you approve…..  My destination - Leon Valley Campground - was the destination because it had a swimming pool and showers.   When I got close I entered the address into Maps because it was off my route.   So excited it found it, so I made the turn on Janice.  Well, to shorten the story, it took me the LONG was 7 miles vs 3 miles.  Hill after hill I climbed in the beautiful farm lands.  I was hot and tired!  Yes, I eventually arrived and it proved to be worth the challenge.  

In the pool I met A couple Connie and Quincy who  invited me over to there place for steak, potatoes, pasta and watermelon..   They said they didn’t want to miss the opportunity of chatting with me.   Kind and thoughtful people.  When I left there I hugged them both twice….it was like we were friends forever!   I didn’t get a picture, but they are in my mind.  Hugs to you both, hope to see you again someday.

Well, there was another person who I met, his name was James.  When I was walking back to my camp, James invited me to meet his family who were gathered around a fire.  James said I want to see your bike; I’ll take you a ride in my cart to see the campground too..  James, thank you for all your questions and the tour.  I loved meeting your family, wish we had more time.   

I gave them both a card and said thank you; this is what it is all about, meeting kind people and making friends.

That’s a lot, but the most important.  So here is a quick glimpse of the rest of the day; just a few pictures and videos.

The best image from the trail.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerReally nice image man.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Daniel SpanglerThank you I’ve seen a few, glad I stopped to snap it.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Small towns are so cool they highlight the important things to the community.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Elroy - 22 miles - was goal one today; refuel and test stop.  Neat town with cool people.  I asked Mike, who was painting a store front in 90 degree heat, for the best food in town.  He said the Eatery right there, a local place.

Heart 0 Comment 0

He was right, the small main street bar like cafe was packed.  I felt like everyone was watching, until I met BEAR the guy sitting next me at the "bar".   

BEAR, was a trucker driver / farmer / cool grizzly looking fellow.  (Beard and wornout ball cap, big weathered hands.)  I felt like mini mouse sitting next to him.  (So no pictures).  

Such a kind guy.  He talked about everything under the sun.  He just got back from Nebraska - took a load of cattle out there 

I'm so glad I got to meet him and hear about his interests.  Thanks BEAR!

Tour of Elroy...

Just one photo
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sign outside the theater
Heart 2 Comment 0

Real quick...another rest stop and the tunnels of the Sparta videos.

Rest Stop

Padded through three tunnels on the Sparta.  The third one was 1.5 miles long....dark as crap.

Heart 2 Comment 2
Mike AylingNo light at the end of that!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerIt was crazy really….I don’t like being under ground even in a tunnel.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0

This was a packed day, I hope you enjoyed it....I did.

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 322 miles (518 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0