Uuuuuuuuuuuu-ma-tilla - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2022

Uuuuuuuuuuuu-ma-tilla

Rain. In the desert. In June.
Fortunately, I got up super early and packed up.
Nothing got very wet - chilled under the overhang at the concession stand.
Perfectly comfortable, munching on various breakfast snacks - 
waiting for the sun to rise. 

Open Road, Rain-Fresh Air, and the Sweet Smell of Spring Grass
Heart 5 Comment 0

Had to wait until 8:30 - 8:30 !! - for the rain to let up.
But finally got on the road - sweet smelling grass and no traffic.
Just before Paterson, there was a woman with a flat tire.
She was upset, but I was able to change it for her.
Not the first time I have done that on my bike tours.
She said, "But I'm delaying you on your trip."
And I said, "This is where I'm supposed to be right now."

Got a last look at the Columbia River - 
a wonderful companion for the past 300 or more miles.
Crossed the bridge into Umatilla with Pendleton as my goal.
The weather forecast called for big rain all weekend.

Downtown Stanfield - a Workaday Town
Heart 2 Comment 0

Busy roads from Umatilla thru Hermiston to Stanfield.
This is the Oregon of broad shoulders.
Ag packing plants, heavy machinery services, warehouses.

Climbing the First Bluff
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rinse, Repeat, Rinse, Repeat
Heart 3 Comment 0

I was so looking forward to my ride along the Umatilla River.
I had thought I would be on a paved road winding along the river.
Well, it wasn't. The first third was broken pavement, the second gravel.
Plus, it climbed nearly every bluff rather than go round on the level.
Granny gear up and big ring spinning down. Huffing & puffing.
But it was really gorgeous - photo stops every mile.
And zero traffic.

Beautiful Farmland in the Umatilla Valley
Heart 6 Comment 1
Scott AndersonReith Road! We biked this seven years ago, in March. Astonishing to see it so green in June.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The Umatilla River Winds Through the Valley
Heart 5 Comment 0

It's terribly sad what goes through your mind
when you are cycling all day.
And then sticks there.

Cliffs along the Umatilla River
Heart 6 Comment 0

In my case, it was the song "Umatilla" - 
sung to the tune of Rogers & Hamerstein's "Oklahoma".

You know -
Uuuuuuuu-ma-tilla where the wind comes sweepin' off the butte
Where the waving wheat, can sure smell sweet
And you're lost and say "Oh, please don't shoot!"

Sad, terribly sad.

Gotta Say "Moo" to the Chetalinas
Heart 4 Comment 0


Finally got to Pendleton.
I could have saved an hour or two by riding on I-84.
But then, I can ride on an Interstate anywhere in the U.S. of A.
And then - insult added to injury -
The motel was 300 feet straight up a hill.
Easily 20% grade, maybe 25%. Definitely push.
Checked in exhausted, showered, and was asleep in 15 minutes.

Sawmill in Reith Just Before Reaching Pendleton
Heart 5 Comment 0



Today's ride: 70 miles (113 km)
Total: 386 miles (621 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Todd ReichI love those kind of roads. Everything is so green. Keep rollin'
Reply to this comment
1 year ago