Uphill, Into the Wind, in the Rain - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2022

Uphill, Into the Wind, in the Rain

Plagiarism alert!  Plagiarsm alert!
Many years ago I saw Dave Tuz's title at Crazyguyonabike -
Uphill into the Wind.  - - And I thought,
"Now, this is a guy I can like."

I mean, most folks think you are crazy to begin with.
Someone passing me today gave me the cuckoo circle.
And there are times when you have to wonder whether they are right.
Today was one of those days. Dave knows.

Flash Flood Watch - Waterfalls in the Ditch
Heart 3 Comment 0

Heavy rain forecast. Looked carefully at the weather radar.
Seemed like there would be an opening in the middle of the day.
Plus, they were predicting west winds - which would help a little.
So I had breakfast at the Shari's and caught up on the journal.

As soon as I headed out - down that 300-foot hill, btw - 
It started raining, harder and harder.
Once you get thoroughly wet, it really doesn't matter any more.
I stopped at the c-store on the Umatilla Reservation for hot chocolate.

The Rich Green of Young Wheat
Heart 4 Comment 0

Then it was back out there - less rain - but 3000 feet of climbing
on the Old Emigrant Trail switchbacks.  And the wind.
The promised tailwind was a stiff headwind.  They lied.
It was an exercise in moral development. Lots of moral development.

At the Start of the Climb - No Traffic on the Old Road
Heart 6 Comment 0

Do a bend in the switchbacks - stop for a photo and to catch my breath.
Wasn't yesterday a killer day, too? And how old am I now??
Even when I got up top, there was the persistent wind slowing me down.
It's more than physical - it saps your mental energy, too.

The Wildflowers Were Beautiful
Heart 3 Comment 0
Up, Up, Up .....
Heart 5 Comment 0
A Meadow Filled with Balsamroot
Heart 6 Comment 0

So, after 15 mles of riding on the ridge, with a steady drizzle,
I got to a little cafe in Meacham near the top of the Blue Mountains.
I was wondering how I would make it to La Grande,
but needed to stop and refuel.

Oregon Trail Cafe in Meacham
Heart 4 Comment 0



Meanwhile, the rain started coming down harder and harder.
When I got out in it again, I was soaked in five minutes.
But - lo and behold - my good friend Mary had texted me.
"Do you want me to come and pick you up?"
Usually, it is a terrible dilemma. Not this time.

Yes, I didn't get the downhill half of my mountain climb.
But Mary had to drive through sheets of rain.
And I was very, very, very grateful.

Mary & Me
Heart 6 Comment 0




Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 416 miles (669 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Dave TuzHA! Everyone that has cycle toured has had their "uphill and against the wind"........ days, weeks, months.....
I'm no longer on CGOAB, but my Trans Am journal is now online at http://tuz.net
I'm gonna post it here when I get some time.
Hoping for tailwinds for you. I've been enjoying reading your, and other journals here.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago