True Grit - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2022

True Grit

The dawned damp and gray.
But the wind had shifted to the northwest.
Which suggested to me that it might be clearing.

Jim was taking Yannek to the train station in Kelso,
so I helped them load the car and wished him well.
Then I went back to the cottage to catch up on writing
and to admit how much I needed to do to pack up.

I wanted to go to church this Sunday.
The old, historic Puget Island Lutheran church was just down the road.
The Norwegians, Finns, and Swedes who settled here were all Lutheran - And so it made sense.

Plywood Interior of Our Saviour's Lutheran Church on Puget Island
Heart 2 Comment 0


Our Saviour's was built in 1928 with an interior entirely of plywood.
Plywood that failed inspection - turned into something of beauty.
"The stone that the builders rejected has become the cornerstone."
It remains so very true, today.

It was a wonderful service, but with a graying congregation.
Afterwards I played a little on the Steinway in the sanctuary.
Then I went downstains to coffee hour and was bad.
I played my Mississippi blues version of "The Lord Is My Shepherd" - 
Which is a bit more rollicking than most Lutherans are used to.

Had to rush back to the cottage and throw everything on the bike -
Because I had some misbegotten notion to catch the 1:00 ferry.
Silly me! Couldn't I see that the rain was coming down harder?
Dashed by the big house and gave Vicki and Jim a hug and off.

Loading the Cathlamet Ferry in the Rain
Heart 2 Comment 0

Apparently, I had forgotten my orange warm-up.
As I waited in the rain for the ferry to start loading,
Jim and Vicki pulled up and Vicki dashed out to give it to me.
Even more gratitude.

They Make Toilet Paper at the Wauna Mill on the Oregon Side of the River
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was a cold, gray, drizzly ferry ride across the Columbia.
I fail to see why I can't have blue skies, sushine, and stunning vistas.
But you could see smoke from the Wauna Mill -
which produced essential toilet paper 24/7 throughout the pandemic.

Once in Westport, I though it might be a good idea to stop at a restaurant.
You know - have something warm to eat and let the rain pass?
Wrong. The food was cold and inedible. Oh, well.
At least the rain had let up.

Short Jaunt on a Backroad along Westport Slough
(Don't be fooled by the blue sky - it's the only blue for miles.)
Heart 5 Comment 1
Keith AdamsThat's what my friends in Corvallis term a "sucker hole".
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I decided to stay on US 30 despite the heavy traffic.
There are wide shoulders and the pavement is generally good.
But I am not accustomed to the steady roar of traffic.
And it wear on the psyche - at least mine.
Not to mention the constant gritty spray that covers you.
Did I mention how much fun this is?

I soon switched into "Push Forward" mode.
Stopped in Clatskanie only to snap a few photos.
Stayed on US 30 rather than taking backroads.
Hefty little climb, but the road surface was just damp, not wet.

Downtown Clatskanie - Gotta Love the Fish Mural
Heart 2 Comment 0

I though about stopping at Ranier.
There a cute downtown with the railroad running down Main St.
But the single motel was decidely funky.
So, I pushed on. Counting the miles.

The Train COmes Down Main Street in Rainier
Heart 2 Comment 0

Sometimes when you are just putting in the miles,
you get into a groove and don't want to stop.
The road surface was lousy - slowing me down a tad.
But the traffic dropped as the day went on.

Abandoned, Sagging Gas Station on the Old Road
Heart 2 Comment 0

When I got to Deer Island I stopped for a Coke.
The attendant let me have it for free - 
a small gesture that boosted my mood.
Called and made a reservation at the Best Western in St. Helens.
(The town, not the volcano.)

6 more miles to go. 4 more miles to go. 2 more miles to go.
The motel's pool and jacuzzi were closed for repair.
Still, I was able to fill the tub with hot water and soak.
Cookies and decaf for dinner - don't tell Mom.

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 147 miles (237 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rebecca RousseauNuttin like a hot bath at the end of the day. xo
Reply to this comment
1 year ago